July 9, 2010


Advertisement
Africa
July 9th 2010
Published: July 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Finishing up seond week at Tororo Parents' Girls Secondary School. Getting many opportunities to learn-from the students, instructors, my host family, the newspapers, and simply by watching the locals. Get to learn the subject material that is being taught at the school, so learning a lot about east Africa. I find it interesting that much of what is taught is similar to what we learn in USA, and the issues that these young girls face are similar, but what is so different is the challenges and consequences that are a part of living in Uganda. Death, HIV/AIDS, corruption, extreme poverty, disease, etc. I have "taught" a few classes at the school now, and during one "counseling" class, a girl asked the question, "What if you want to be successful, or have goals you want to achieve, but you know you are going to die. How do you keep your motivation?" I didn't realize the depth of this question at the time, but later an instructor told me that many young people have been born with HIV/AIDS, and know they may die young. Imagine being 13-14-15 years old and know your life is so limited. This is not uncommon. Then, while visiting with a student teacher at the school, who will be graduating soon, we discussed what type of job she hopes to get next. She explained to me that in Uganda, you get a job because someone you are related to works there, and gets you a job. Often by a bribe. That it isn't about being qualified. It's about corruption. And if you have money, you can buy yourself most jobs. I have had many in-depth conversations with these people close to me, and I admire their hope and perseverence, in spite of the lack of opportunity, hope for change or hope for the common person. I cannot express enough how great my country is- it may not be perfect, and I may not agree with many of our foreign policies, but I am aware of the opportunities open to me, that if I work hard and have honesty and integrity, I can succeed and have a good life, where all my needs will be met. I can be safe from harm, have access to basic life essentials, including health care and medication, education, shelter and food, support from my family and resources provided by my government. I am so grateful.

Advertisement



10th July 2010

oh coffee lady
You are lucky for your experience and the people who get to be in contact with you are truely blessed. It is great that you continue to remind us of our abuncance here in the US. We have just celebrated the fourth of July and we missed having you here this year. But having you where you are helps me to rememberhow lucky we are for our liberties, I am grateful to be an American and sad that I take it for granted so often. God bless you Deb and stay strong we are all here for you and many are missing you tremendously. Andrew B asked me to come to Burgies more often because it reminds them of Deb.:) Hugs and luv and prayers!!
12th July 2010

miss you!
Debra! I just heard on the news about a bombing in Uganda. People were watching the world cup and a bomb exploded in the cafe. I hope you are safe and healthy!! The Ames high kids are back, and they LOVED you. You have impacted lives and made a difference already. Rachel told Rylie that you asked her every day how she was doing and actually took the time to listen to the answer and really care about how she was doing. You are a unique and incredible woman. I know that Rachel is not the only one who will be changed because you cared. Uganda is lucky to have you for now. We can't wait to hug you again (whether you like it or not :)

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb