5 PM. One hour 'till dinner bell.


Advertisement
Africa
September 3rd 2009
Published: September 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello all.

I know God has been watching over my footsteps in the darkness, but I need to ask Him for a few more things:

I need steak and baked potatoe with some greens on the side. Stanton - style.

I need a full body massage, because my entire body is in pain.

I need a nap in air conditioned comfort with no car horns honking, doors slamming and no people outside my window screaming.

I need a beer with some pretzels on the patio.

I need to see the sunrise and the sunset again.

I need to see my people whom I know and Love so dearly that they can not even imagine how much I miss them.

I need to see the Canyon, Yosemite, Yellowstone, Bryce & Zion, Presque Isle, and a whole bunch of other National Parks that I've been to (or have never been).

"There's no place like home, there's no place like home, there's no place like home."

I need Dorothy Gale's ruby slippers and Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon queud at the second roar of the MGM lion.

I need this LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOng weekend to get here and be over and done with. In America, please enjoy your LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOng weekend with steaks, and potatoes and pretzels and beer and sunsets on the patio. Seriously, please enjoy one for me.

I need to ask for more patience, because I'm worn out, and with a screaming, squirming young one strapped to my aching back I coulld use more patience. How many thousand times I can walk up and down the hallway?

I ask all things things through Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior.

Advertisement



3rd September 2009

You're so close
you are so close...think of all the positives...appreciate the country for what it is if you can for a just a short while longer...baby is coming home with papa. One positive thing...at least there aren't a bunch of African holidays to go with our American ones at the same time...you will look back in amazement at what you accomplished, and probably even laugh a little.
3rd September 2009

Hi Keith! Thanks for the regular updates. I enjoy your sense of humor. Rachel says KM loves the water so we can take her on the boat next summer. Looking forward to it. We are continually praying for your safe and speedy return. Blessings to you and those taking good care of you. Carol J.
3rd September 2009

amen
amen!
3rd September 2009

Stuff
You shall have it all my love. Every whim, food item, rub, kiss will be supplied by your wife who is so in awe and in love with you. I am thinking there needs to be a little Keith Action Figure Hero that comes with the book. You are AMAZING! Allowing my self to get really excited now! Lori W. and I went to Target after lunch and got size four diapers, shampoo, body wash, body lotion, therometer with three heads: one for mouth, one for underarm and one for ... rectum, little barretts and pink and purple socks. It was so much fun! Set and ready for my family to get home so I can mother you both. I love, love love you and Kamina Marie! Okay - working on plane ticket now! Rachel
3rd September 2009

Patience is a Virtue :)
Hello L'il Brother, You sound like me every, single Sunday in church. Right after I receive communion, that's what I ask for - "Dear Lord, Please give me the patience I need to deal with all of the people in my life." Seems to be working so far, 'cause I haven't hurt anyone yet! I don't envy you with trying to entertain a little one by yourself, without the luxury of crayons and paper, or Playdoh, or blocks, or something we parents in the good ole U. S. of A. take for granted. I still remember those exhausting, seemingly neverending walks up and down our hallway in our tiny ranch house trying to get a crying baby to sleep. Still praying for you and your aching body. Love ya much, Cathy
3rd September 2009

Keith you are so missed. My girls saw Rachel last night and Allison asked if she was SO excited!! She said Yes, but not as much as your Mother!!! She said every time I hear from her she's crying!! This is true! You are the strongest human being alive I have ever known!! We love you and can not wait for the weekend to be over as well!! xoxo
3rd September 2009

hang in there my friend...i dont know how you have done it but you are good man thats one thing I admire alot about u
4th September 2009

hang in there Keith
You'll be home soon Keith...just hang in there a little bit longer. You're strong...this time will pass quickly in retrospect...just hang in there Keith. You'll be in Rachel's arms before you know it. We miss you so much...but know that you'll be home in a week or so! That's better than months. Hang in there! We'll treat you like the God that you are when you get back. We're going to fatten you back up, I'll make sure that Rachel turns the AC way down so that you're cold, and the water will flow freely, as well as the electricity....you'll be in your own little version of heaven. I've sent a "patience" request to the Universe, and a time speed thingy...hang in there. You'll be home before you know it. Love you - Becca
4th September 2009

Morning, Keith :)
I hear your anxiety and I can't imagine what you're experiencing, but just a few more days and you'll be home again. Getting through this weekend will probably be the hardest part of the whole journey because home is now in sight. And hard as it might be, for the last days you are there, try to focus completely on the good and wonderful people you've met there and the experiences you've had with them and the places you've discovered in the area. You ask yourself how many times can you walk up and down the hallway? As many as it takes because you're an incredibly strong and wonderful human being. I'm very proud to let everyone know you're my brother. Just be sure you're packed and ready to get out of there Tuesday morning. Until then, try to remember that you're not alone because the Blessed Mother Mary is wrapping her arms around you and Kamina every minute of the day to comfort you. I'm praying on a different rosary because I sent my Steeler rosary to Rachel. Yep! It's in your house right now and should be laying on your Terrible Towel this very minute. Feel the good vibes? Ha! Steelers kicked the Panthers' butts last night - 21-10 - and play the Titans at Heinz Field on the 10th (Thursday). Hopefully you'll be home by then. Loves ya, Keith - Marie :)
4th September 2009

Patience
I am sending you tons of patience via this email. The Rader's are keeping you all in our prayers CONTINUALLY...and Rader is more than ready for you to arrive home and have some of all the above on the new deck...God speed Keith and be safe...we love and miss you tons...
4th September 2009

We are praying for you!!
I'm so sorry your stuck there even longer, just think how soon you'll be home and this will all be just a memory of how God blessed you with a deeper love for your home and a wonderful daughter. Look how far you've come!!! This last stretch is a drop in the hat! Any one of us would trade you places in a heartbeat if we could. You're family will soon be together and we will ALL celebrate that monumental accomplishment!!!! You're NEVER far from our thoughts and prayers, be strong keep the faith and know we are all sending our prayers your way.
4th September 2009

HE IS THE WAY THE TRUTH & THE LIGHT
Psalm 18:2 The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior;my God is my rock, in whom I find protection.He is my shield, the power that saves me,and my place of safety. Psalm 18:30 God’s way is perfect.All the Lord’s promises prove true.He is a shield for all who look to him for protection. 2 Samuel 22:31 “God’s way is perfect.All the Lord’s promises prove true.He is a shield for all who look to him for protection. HANG IN THERE HE KNOWS YOU CAN DO IT OR YOU WOULDN'T BE THERE can't wait to meet my neice & help you & Rachel with her hair I have her supplies all ready love ya take care
4th September 2009

How to entertain a toddler with practically nothing!
Hello L'il Brother, I've been straining my brain trying to think of ways for you to save your body and yet entertain Kamina at the same time, given your limited resources. Since you've already written notes from this amazing journey, why not sit her on your lap and draw some primitive drawings to go with the words and read her the story of "Kamina's Amazing Adoption." Not sure how well you can draw, but stick figures will do the trick. Just give them faces. I know you can bring that story to life, since you've lived it, and make it jump off the pages for her. Also, you said you were going to get a needle and thread from that woman in your building, so, if you have a sock with you, take two buttons off of a shirt and sew them onto it to make sock puppet eyes. If you don't have a pen or marker around to make a big smiley face mouth for it, you said you got your toenails painted, so get some nailpolish from someone and use that to draw a mouth. You can get a lot of action out of that sock. Might occupy her for 5 or 10 minutes, at a crack. I asked Andy for some ideas for you too. His suggestions were, to play hide and seek with an object. Play, "Where's the "blank"? It doesn't take too much room to fly a paper airplane around. One piece of paper will do the trick. That might occupy her for another 5 or 10 minutes. You've been reminded of how short toddler's attention spans are. No matter how much we love them, they can be very exhausting little creatures. I hope one or two of our suggestions help. At any rate, they may keep you busy with something new to think about. Love ya, Cathy
4th September 2009

Bless Your Heart
Please know how many of us are praying for your quick and safe return. I can't wait for you to have that steak and baked potato!!!
5th September 2009

Always prayers to you
Prayers for your strength, peace and safety. And prayers that everything will start moving forward after the long weekend so that you and Kamina will soon be home. Candles are burning for you, Kamina and Rachel. Looking forward to bringing you some food and beer from the list when you are home. Stay Strong!! Sending love and prayers to all of you, the Hills

Tot: 0.346s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.1185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb