I have a daughter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Advertisement
Africa
July 7th 2009
Published: July 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am in Kamina, DRC in the office of the Reverund Boniface Kobongo.
He is the Bishop's Assistant in the North Katanga Conference.
I am using qnother French keyboard, and it is no easier today than the last time.
The q and the a are juxtapositioned.
The adoption was completed yesterday at four fifteen PM.
The mission trip is going well, and we are being kept extremely busy and well fed.
If somehow the stars align properly, I will be able to fly home on the fifteenth of July.
We are all healthy.
The weather is fine.
Today we fed children at a soup kitchen.
Extreme poverty.
Extreme poverty.
Extreme poverty.
Deplorable living conditions.
Raw sewage in the streets where children play.
Hundreds of people everywhere everyday every minute.
Unemployment is 98 percent.
Electricity and water are questionable and can go out at any moment.
Lots of mosquitos.
Sleeping all coated in Deet under a mosquito net with no AC is unpleasent.
Nevertheless, the people are amazingly appreciative of anything we give them.
Yesterday we went all over the town of Kamina.
One area was "the farm" They make their own bricks.
They also grow corn which feeds the orphanage where Kamina Marie is from.
When I saw the silo of corn that had been used to store the corn that fed my baby, I cried like a baby.
It was truly emotional, you can not believe how emotional it was.
Today, we went to the Shungu Clinic and gave infant innoculations.
The conditions are terrible. 40 percent of the deaths in this country are due to malaria from mosquitoes.
When I am able to download the photos, you will see.
I have taken one kajillion photos.
Today we were honored guests of the Bishop at his Kamina Center United Methodist Church.
There were six choirs of singers and dancers. They gave us chairs in front of the front row.
Emotions emotions emotions.
The Bishop's people have been phenominal and continue to be so. I cannot thank them enough.
We have created a lifetime friendship. I will be back here some day.
Must go now before the power goes out.
Happy Birthday to The C on the Ninth of July. C!
Hi Mom!
Peace and Love to all. Keith.
I Love you Rachel.



Advertisement



7th July 2009

Congratulations
How exciting! Congratulations Keith. I know the feeling having used the cyrillic keyboard in Ukraine! Youre doing well. Your daughter will be impressed and amazed at her knew life...and will never forget where she came from or what you have done to save her--unlike her peers she will have in her youth and adult life, she will know the difference of being an American.
7th July 2009

Congrats!!!
Congrats Keith and Rachel!!!! Can't wait to see her.
8th July 2009

Thank you Keith for sharing your journey through this blog. It has been amazing to read. I have been able to feel the emotion of your experience through your words. I am lifting up prayer daily . . . and look for your posts both morning and night to see if there is something new. God is good! Take care and God bless, Jennifer Flowers
9th July 2009

Congratulations!
Dear Keith, Congratulations to both you and Rachel! We are all anxious to see your new daughter -- Know you're enjoying the father-daughter time of bonding! Also thank you for submitting the description of your experiences -- Very interesting, and want to hear more when you get a chance. Our thoughts and prayers are with you and Kamina, and wish you a safe trip home! John and Johnna Fraise
10th July 2009

So happy for you!
can't wait to see your new little one! let me know if you need a sitter. Kim Hmailton.
10th July 2009

Praise God!
We thank the Lord with you and Rachel for what he has done and continues to do.May all glory be His for such a time as this.
10th July 2009

Keith, thanks for sharing your extradinary experience. The conditions seem so deplorable there for so many little souls. My heart goes out to all on the mission trip also and will keep you all in my prayers for a safe return. I pray you can be back on the 15th with little Kamina. She is one very special little one who will be very blessed to have you and Rachel as parents. God's speed, Charlotte Lea
10th July 2009

I am soooo excited for you!!!
I am sooooo excited for you!!! I know you have been grining from ear to ear! Enjoy your time and I will see you when you return!

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb