Lake Naivasha


Advertisement
Africa
June 10th 2009
Published: June 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On the journey to Lake Naivasha, we stopped at the Great Rift overlook. It was a beautiful site, there was a family there selling goods. The little girl was hustler. SHe tried to sell me these little figurines for 2,000 shilling which is like $20us. I told her that was crazy, and she just shrugged her shoulders at me. She will do good to become a cars sales woman.

The place we camped for the first two nights was called Fisherman Camp. Very nice camp site on the edge of Lake Naivasha, which is home to over 2,500 hippos, the most dangerous animal in Africa. The camp site had hot showers, a bar and and squatters/outhouses.

The people there were lovely. For my day trip I went to a place called Crater Lake. I had a 3 hour bush walk with animals that were only 15 to 20 feet away. Animals like giraffes, zebra, four different kinds of antelope. Very cool. We hiked through this area to Crater lake, which has a ton on sulfur. We had a soda at the lodge bar that was there. The lodge to stay at is $250US a night. We then had a lovely lunch in town. We gave the waitress $5US for a tip and she started to cry she was so happy.

I saw my first real site of poverty. It was terrible sad. It was a town of shacks, like on Slumdog Millionaire. It made me cry, I was in the back of the van so no one saw me thank god.

Jen and I already known as the Americans. We are far more out going then everyone else. I think it is good thing though. Our tour leader Andy said it is because we are just young American girls that why people take notice. When I told him that we were 29, all he could say was WOW.

The truck life is serious. We are divided into groups called cook groups. 3 people per group. I was on the first. This means that we have to cook dinner, breakfast, and lunch, clean after every meal and then clean the truck. It also means that we are in control of all the important keys. This is very hands on not really a vacation.

I am running out of time. We are currently on route for our first night of bush camping.

Advertisement



10th June 2009

Leah in charge
Did they know what they were in for giving you the keys? I have no doubt that you'll have truck-life running like a well-oiled machine. They'll be begging you to stay in charge :-) Loving your posts so far, they make me laugh and spark the wanderlust in me. So happy you're out adventuring, but missing you too.

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb