Wow, I guess I really am doing this!


Advertisement
Africa
December 10th 2008
Published: December 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, well there is a lot to talk about. First off, bowel movements, they are definitely firming up. I couldn't be more excited about that. Right now, I am in a town called Ambo, which is about 100km southwest of Addis Ababa. This is where our very intensive training is. Everyday I walk 45 minutes to the Technical College. There we have 4 1.5 hour blocks a day ranging in subject matter from technical skills we will need, cross cultural stuff, language, and health class. I am getting a lot of encouragement from the people who have been in Ethiopia for a year knowing that they just got their projects going. The lifespan for a Peace Corps volunteer has about 6 months to a year of just meeting people and finding out where you fit in and how you can be of most help. EVeryone will be partnered with an NGO and they will help with the assimilation and introductions. I have to run because I could possibly get mugged on my way home. Its getting dark...

Advertisement



10th December 2008

Location
Keep running. As a SIFE president you can get your projects up in half the time. Do you have GPS coordinates? Do you have a GPS unit, actually?
10th December 2008

I'm glad to hear your poo is of solid substance these days. I'm actually thinking about doing social work abroad next summer, after I get my Master's, so I'm really interested in hearing what you will be doing. Hope you have a wonderful day!
10th December 2008

Hey, so you have internet, that's more luxury than you thought. But the possible muggings, not so good. So I guess you get to pick what projects you work on?
11th December 2008

We Miss You!
hey bubba. im glad to hear that youre alive and well. i miss you very much. just the fact of knowing that you aren't just a phone call away stinks! whenever you get your mailing address please let me know! i got back to school and had your birthday present sitting on my desk. its a really cool rubix cube thing, i think it may just take years to figure out.. haha im sure you could find some use in it.. :) well keep the updates coming, everyone enjoys to hear how you are doing. i love you. -em

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb