Two Entries in Two Days


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Oromia Region
December 11th 2008
Published: December 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone,

I am trying to remember what I have told you and what I haven't. Oh, so the group I am with is 40 volunteers. They are pretty much split down the middle as far as gender. They are from all over the US. There is one guy from Franklin, TN, so that is pretty neat. After this we will be dispersed throughout the country. AHHH! Let's talk about culture. Ethiopia is a very conservative country but this does not limit its beauty. The colors are just as vibrant as anywhere else in Africa. In my house, I have 5 people living with me. His name is Gammachise and his wife is Boga. He has two daughters, neither is his, but one he brought in from the street to give her an education and the other I believe is his brother's. Drinking is frowned upon and so is smoking (I would like to let everyone know I have had 5 cigarettes since getting in country and ZERO in the last 4 days). The women in the house stay in the kitchen and never eat with the men. It is very much a male dominated society. I am sorry for the lack of pictures but because of how slow the internet is, pictures are a real pain. I am finding out about all these awesome deals for peace corps volunteers. Like 50% off chacos, subscription to the economist and incountry delivery. Everyone is very friendly and appreciative when I rape their language. At least I am trying, that's what they say. There are explosive letters and that is pretty much how you have to say them too! I am having to drink around 6-7 liters of water a day because of the altitude. Otherwise, I am losing so much water from my lungs, my blood is thickening. Thats what the doctor told me. Ok well I have to run to school, we are learning about gastrointestinal illnesses today. How exciting!!!

If anyone wants to send me a letter or package my address is ....
John Lamon
C/O Peace Corps Ethiopia
PO Box 7788
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Letters and Packages will always be greatly appreciated.

Thank you everyone for your support,

John






Advertisement



11th December 2008

What do you need?
What can we send in a care package that will make it to you?

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb