First Week Completed


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Oromia Region
December 13th 2008
Published: December 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well it is 2pm on Saturday. We got out early today because we were tested today. I did pretty good. The language is actually really fun. It is all formula like spanish so there are rules to follow in every situation. Amharic is like a giant puzzle. I have a 45 minute walk down the main road so today I left an hour early so I could play soccer with some of the kids in town. Everyone is super friendly and if you didn't want to, you wouldn't ever have to lift a finger. Some of the other Peace Corps members who have been here for a year, said that one way to get the kids from yelling,"Forengi," is by giving them a quarter to go get a bar of soap for them or any other little thing needed from the store. Some things here are very different than in the states like for example it really isn't anything for a stranger to walk up and grab my hand and start talking with me as we walk. Guys hold hands with other guys, guys kiss other guys, and they will sit very awkwardly on each others laps. Oh well, every culture is its own. I am pretty excited because every day in my host family's house we have a buna/coffee ceremony and tommorow I will make the coffee. This means I am going to wash the beans, roast, grind, boil, and enjoy my own coffee. It is also exciting because Ethiopian coffee is amazing. I hope to load some pictures tommorow, no matter how long it takes. Oh my goodness, I almost forgot to tell you about health day. First of all the medical staff set us up with an awesome first aid kit. Complete with everything I will need being 10 hours away from help. But anyway, The medical staff is going to take me off the malaria prophalaxis and switch me to doxycycline because I keep getting this feeling like my feet and ankles are falling asleep. They said that isn't supposed to happen so I am getting switched to a medicine that I have to take everyday. I think it is doxycycline, a broad range antiseptic. Well, I am going to run. They are showing Wall-E at the technical school today to end our first week. Also, if anyone wants to... a few things I need are some water-flavor packets of any kind(just to kill the taste of the water), swedish fish, sour patch kids, a hat, a small juggling soccer ball to pull out of my bag and play with the kids, some current news magazines to find out what is going on in the world, and any other thing anyone wants to throw in there that they feel I need. My address is

John Lamon
C/O Peace Corps Ethiopia
PO Box 7788
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

I will see you guys soon..


Advertisement



13th December 2008

John! I am really enjoying reading your journal entries! I am glad that you made it safe and are doing well. I am thinking of you as I take my law school exams - definitely wish I had joined the peace corps instead. =) Best of luck - can't wait to see pictures. Jacquie
24th December 2008

Wishing you the best
Hi John I am at Grandmas and it is Christmas eve - just saw a print out of your blog. Wanted to tell you how much we all wish you were here but also very glad that you are getting engaged in Ethiopia. It is always good to remember the name of the Corp Peace Corp and to make peace in the world is the best you can do!! Love from all of us Bob

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb