107 weeks left...


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Oromia Region
December 15th 2008
Published: December 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I felt really bad for my host father yesterday. He took me and my neighbor(who is also a Peace Corps Volunteer) to a local park and waterfall. It really was amazing just being able to sit and relax, and tune out everything that is on my mind right then and soak up the scenery. Anyways, the trip almost broke my host father's wallet. First off, the bus ride was 2 birr for locals, 5 for foreigns. Next the park entrance fee was 2 birr for locals, 10 for foreigns and an additional 10 to bring in a camera. Then the ride back. Keep in mind that the exchange rate is roughly 10 birr to the dollar. I found out that I make 17 birr a day. Ethiopian culture says that if you ever were to invite anyone to do anything, you pay for it. If you were to ask a group of children,"Where can I get some coffee?" Odds are they will definitely show you and also expect you to buy them tea or a coke. Anyways, I hope tommorow to put up some pictures so you can see where I am living and what I am doing to pass the time. I really can't wait to show you the showering conditions, which consist of a large plastic tub about 5" tall and a 1Liter bucket. The language training is getting pretty intense, but everything is still very fun. I miss everyone. I hope everyone is having fun back in the states. I got to see BBC news for a few minutes and saw there is a giant ice storm. Sorry. I will talk to you later.

Advertisement



15th December 2008

Dear John, Wow! they had you leave toot sweet! Got a question for you, and I apologize for bringing up business. Do you remember how much money you took with you to Kenya for basket buying? Lauren's trying to work up her final report and needs that number. Don't stress with the pictures. Remember how long it took to even get the Internet up in Voi. Sooooo not worth the trouble.
16th December 2008

Cold and nasty ice here...
IL gov. Bladonvitch (?) is up on corruption charges for trying to sell Obama's replacement seat in the Senate..got him on phone tap but he refuses to leave. Pretty interesting. Seen any cool animals, esp. reptiles?
16th December 2008

hey john. i am glad i get to hear from you as often as i do. it seems like you're learning a lot about life. i am just working; i can't really tell if i'm learning much other than trying to get out of debt lol. i talked to a friend and he said to try to say this to you. i'm not sure if it's the language you are speaking or not, but i think he said "endemen nah/nesh" means good morning or how are you, i'm not really sure. i think one is feminine and the other is masculine. again, i'm not sure if you actually speak this or even what it means, but i'm curious. i certainly do miss you, and i'm glad to hear that you are safe. you will be in my thoughts. i love you.
16th December 2008

package
Hey buddy, I move back in with my parents in a matter of days. Mj without you is going to suck, but I can't even imagine how you must be feeling. I didn't know you could receive packages. I'm going to try to send you a box of goodies. So expect something.. at some point.
19th December 2008

A tub and a bucket? Is this indoors or out? Are we talking electricity? Sounds like your host father is a good guy. I am loving driving your car, it runs great!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb