Christmas!!!


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Oromia Region
December 25th 2008
Published: December 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sorry everyone I spent all my money on some local beer and haven't been able to afford the internet. The Peace Corps Staff took all of us to a place called Lake Wenchi today. It was so beautiful. It is a giant crater lake. I would say about a kilometer across. The best part was the hour and half walk down the mountain side to the lake. I can't wait to be able to load some pictures on here for all of you to see. It has been a weird day though. We have been singing Christmas Carols all day but it is still 80 Degrees outside. A Christmas dinner is being arranged for us at one of the local hotels. I think this should be interesting with what they come up with. Oh, I had what Ethiopians call a burger the other day. It came open-faced on a piece of texas toast with cheese that lacked all flavor. The burger tasted like a boca burger without the flavor. I say all this but I ate it so fast. It was delicious with ketchup, french fries and salt. The food here is hit and miss. Some things are amazing and I could eat them everyday and then there is things like Gonfo, which is like cream of wheat if you only used half the water and added a little paste. I had to tell my host family that I can't eat that. For the most part, they have been really amazing as far as not making me eat stuff I don't want. They also love making "Forengi" food for me in addition to the Ethiopian food. I am getting a little tired of the Grease Macaroni that up until a few days ago, I thought was Macaroni and Cheese. If anyone was thinking of sending me a Christmas Package, I want to tell you that the best way to send something is with USPS International Flat Rate. From what I heard it is $30 dollars to send up to 20lbs. I don't know if cheese will keep unrefridgerated for 3 weeks but I would love to find out. I would even settle for velveeta cheese at this point. Starburst, Sour Patch Kids, Dark Chocolate, and any other candy that will fit. I am all out of Sudoku puzzles and the group has resorted to copying sudokus out of the book. Any brain teasers, news periodicals, or good books that you think I should read will be greatly appreciated. I hope to have another entry this weekend. I have to go get ready for dinner. Bye everyone.

Advertisement



26th December 2008

Christmas
We are together for Christmas, and your reading your Christmas entry is the highlight of our day. We are practicing on the trivia games so we can beat you when you get home. Puzzles and other things(not too sure about the cheese) are on the way. We found out that it wsn't you making the silent but deadly's. We love you so much and are so very proud of you, Mom, Dad, Allie, Emily and Hannah
26th December 2008

Hang in there buddy. Tough being out of country during Christmas. You sound great. Will work on care package. Krist
26th December 2008

Miss ya!
hey hey! i miss you lots more then i could have ever imagined. This morning i was the last person to wake up, which was very weird. We played this board game called "Last Word" which was something that would be right up your alley! You have a stack of cards with categories and a stack with letters of the alphabet, and you have to think of a word that fits in the category and starts with the letter. The person that can get the last one in before the buzzer gets the point. With your quick wit, i think you would be awesome. We saved you a christmas cracker/popper. :] i know you hear it from everyone, but we all miss you! Merry Christmas, i love you very much. em
26th December 2008

Missing you!
I ordered your Chacos, so as soon as I get them, I will be sending you a package with them and some other goodies! I am so proud of you John. I can't wait to see your pictures. Soak it all up and come back to us! I love you so much and I miss you everyday!
29th December 2008

Hey John! Thanks for keeping up to date on how things are goin in Ethiopia. It's always exciting to hear from you. I know Chris would like to get these sent directly to his email, christopher.woodling@wku.edu, so add him to the list. I can't imagine what the food is like over there. I'm such a picky eater. I had a hard time when we went to Europe and that's pretty sad. Have a great day!

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0737s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb