Saturday 26th July 08


Advertisement
Africa
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

On Saturday we had a lie in, Yey! Woke up at about 9 & had a tiny bit of bread. I had a lovely shower & a taxi arrived at 9:30. It took us to Moshi where Sheila & Trev got their hair done. While Sheila was in work previously she booked a hair appointment to get their hair braided. Obviously I didn’t get mine done so I was really bored. It took 4 hours in total & I kept going back & forth. There’s a coffee shop nearby so I kept walking there, having a coffee, using the internet, & going back to see how Sheila & Trev were getting on. The hairdressers was brilliant, Sheila said it was her favourite part of the trip so far. It was so culturally different to hairdressers at home. They were both sat on a cold hard floor for 4 hours. There were loads of people crammed into a tiny room; there were lots of weddings going on. It was brilliant to see how brides in Africa prepared for a wedding. I walked outside the hairdressers & there was a bench with a man painting nails. I asked if I could have mine done & he just took my hand straight away. I needed to kill some time so it was perfect. He painted a nice design on my fingers & toes (even though I didn’t ask for that.) The “pedicure” wasn’t that relaxing. At home they’d put your foot into a hot bath of water & massage it & stuff but here my foot was in dirt. At one point it got stuck in chewing gum on the floor. It only cost £2 to have it all done, I was very chuffed. Their hair looked amazing once it had finished. Sheila was very happy with her & Trev said she didn’t like it, but I thought it suited them both loads. I was very jealous. Once they’d said thank you to the hairdressers we went shopping for paint to paint my nursery. We spent about an hour looking for the right paint. Sheila knew what we were looking for but we couldn’t find it. I wanted yellow matt paint but they only had gloss. Apparently that’s really hard to work with so we didn’t get any as Sheila said it would be impossible to use. I was so upset that we didn’t get to do it in the end, I felt really bad. I told the teacher I’d meet her at the school/her house at lunch time on Saturday but I didn’t bother going. We got home at about 4; we just caught a taxi back from Moshi to the home base. Pretty much everyone was here when we got back. They were all just relaxing from their night out the night before. They told us loads of stories & it sounded like a good night. After dinner we learnt a game called family & played that for a while. It’s really fun & I’ll have to introduce it to everyone at home. We then were all in the mood to watch a film. We borrowed the lion king & Jenny’s DVD player & sat in Meghan & Caitlin’s room & watched it. Trev, Meghan, Shelby, Caitlin & I all watched it while munching on crisps & chocolate. We’ve all been craving lion king since we’ve been here so it was good to watch. We sang the whole way through. We had a pretty early night after the film, I was tired from a day of doing nothing. Asante tena
Caitlin : ) x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb