Mining Indaba Conference - Day 1


Advertisement
Africa
February 4th 2008
Published: February 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

ChrisChrisChris

Chris checking out the itinerary for the conference.
Today was the first day of the mining indaba conference. Picked up our registration packages easily, but then had a few hours to wait around until our first meeting. Caught a shuttle over to the V&A waterfront as the meeting was in that vicinity (at the Radisson Waterfront, which turned out to be a 5 minute taxi ride from the far end of the waterfront). Wandered around and decided we better grab a quick bite to eat before continuing on to the meeting. Surprisingly, the mall at the waterfront was huge and found a little restaurant serving wraps and fruit smoothies. The taxi ride over was uneventful and our first female taxi driver. The meeting went well, although think I got a little too much sun.

From the meeting, we headed back to the conference centre and caught some talks on corporate social responsibility (more interesting than it sounds). After that, we headed out with a few others to the beer garden (free, and much more than just beer) outside the conference centre. Have a picture of the group which I will attempt to upload (may be in a separate entry if I can't figure it out). It was a
At the Beer GardensAt the Beer GardensAt the Beer Gardens

At the beer gardens after the conference on day 1. People in photo are, left to rigth, Geoffrey (from Australia), Eunice (we just met today, from Botswana), Chris, Paul (Canadian living in Mali), Francis (Ghana), and forget his name on the far right.
lot of fun and met a few new people, and ran into an old friend. After the free drinks, Chris and I headed back to the waterfront for a function sponsored by the Canadian High Commissioner to South Africa. Turned out to be a bit of a quiet event, although did grab a snack. Left there around 8:30, arrived back at the hotel, then downstairs for dinner. Another great meal, and another later evening (especially for me, now 9:50, and by the way, seem to have gotten over the jetlag - just one episode of feeling really tired around 1). I need to prep for a meeting tomorrow, as I need to try and import some data into my MapInfo. So, will try to upload the photo, prep for the meeting, then strategize talks and other events for tomorrow.

In case anyone is interested, it was another beautiful hot day.

I think I am having isues with my blogging ability. I don't seem to be able to get my entry from the other day on the site. I have copied some url stuff below, which may or may not work for showing the previous entry. If not, I apologize for whatever garble may appear after this statement.



TB: Recovering from Jet Lag in Cape Town

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb