More from Kunya Village, Kenya


Advertisement
Africa
December 15th 2007
Published: December 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! Continuing from Kunya Village in Kenya. Things are cruising along for me and three other volunteers. Sozan (Vancouver BC) is rooming with Sarah (New Zealand), and I have a new housemate, Jane from Las Vegas. She is 37 and produces corporate videos. She is going to work on getting a computer donated to Kunya Dispensary. Hooray - I have enough to do. She also brought her video cam and is going to do a lot of documenting for Village Volunteers for future fundraising and program evaluation, suggestions, and what we are doing here. She was a huge help yesterday to help me clean everything out of the dispensary storeroom so construction of shelves can begin on Sunday or Monday.

So, to back up. The carpenter came to the dispensary on Tuesday, drew up my plan, and gave an estimate. Trick is, I must purchase all the supplies first, then pay him for labor (no one has any money). So, to buy, I must go to Kisumu. Wednesday was a national holiday, Independence Day (44 years since British colonial rule), so had to wait until Thursday. I convinced the carpenter to go with me, to check prices and negotiate. We left at 8 am. I would have liked to have started earlier, but he lives 15 km farther past Ragengni, and has to bicycle part way, then bus. It rained the previous night, so the roads were mud, and his bus got stuck. So, he had to ride his bicycle in the mud to Ragengni and was 30 minutes late - not bad. Once in Kisumu, we took boda bodas (bicycles that carry passengers and cargo) around to a couple of hardware stores in one part of town (after I went to the bank for cash!) to check prices. Then we rode back to the matatu/mini-bus station to negotiate for a ride home with our lumber and supplies. I discretely shopped in the market stalls while Zablan dickered. He arranged for a mini-bus to transport our goods at a good price (compared to what we would have to rent a pickup for) and they would come to the hardware store on the way out of town. Next, we went to hardware stores in another part of town - the main industrial area in the city entrance. Once we decided where we would buy, we went back to the station to tell the bus where to get us (unfortunately not answering their cell phone, so we had to trek back). They still agreed, so we returned to the hardware store to purchase. The bus was to leave at 2, but at about 3:10 the bus whizzed by the hardware store. Zablan ran out and chased it down the street, but no luck. He came back after a long time, very frustrated, and exclaimed, "They failed us." So, he left me there and went back to the bus station to find another bus. While I sat, patience at an all time high, I began to form plans as to what I would do if the store closed before he returned. I decided I would have the lumber put outside, and if Zablan was not successful in getting a bus, I would deal with that if needed. Finally, what should pull up but a bright orange bus loaded to the gills with curious riders, and piles of cargo on top. We were immediately a bustle of activity as hired loaders started yelling for the store employees to "chop chop" so they could quickly load and get going. I had to pay 300 KSH ($4.50) for 3 guys to load everything on top of the bus. Then, I had to pay 2350 KSH ($34) for the cargo and our fares, and...they agreed to take us all the way to the dispensary. Normally, we would be left off at the main road in Ragengni, so this was a big deal, and huge relief for me, as we would be arriving at dark, and no way to arrange transport of the goods.

At one of the stops along the way, I purchased 7 bunches of bananas (10 KSH per bunch) and shared them with bus passengers to thank them for waiting. But, the favor of bananas was forgotten after turning down the road to Kunya Village with darkness approaching and the remaining riders with still far to go. The passengers started grumbling, then complaining, and were clearly angry with me as I got off the bus, but I just had to ignore them. I was sorry for the inconvenience, but I had paid well for the ride, and we were doing something charitable, which I was not able to explain to them, and at that point, don't think they would have cared. I don't think too much is going to bother me after these experiences. So, we arrived at the dispensary, in the dark, but had attracted quite a bit of attention coming down the country road, so several people, mostly boys, had gathered to see what was up. Bus conductors quickly tossed all my lumber off the bus onto the ground and took off. Zablan's bicycle was at Ragengni and he had 15 km to ride home, so he got on the bus, and I hired 3 boys to carry the lumber down to the dispensary and put inside. I sent the youngest boy, Vincent, to the daktari's house to get the key. Daktari was not home, but his wife sent the keys. Thank goodness, the night watchman was at the dispensary, and he helped, along with the boys, who did great work, to get all the lumber and supplies carried down and put away - including a heavy bag of cement mix. Then, the daktari came and sent me home, while the others finished putting things away.

Next day, yesterday, Jane and I hauled all the boxes of medicine and supplies out of the storeroom into other rooms. I was hoping to clean, but ran out of time. Jane and Sozan said they would help me tomorrow morning (Sunday) in case the carpenter comes to start tomorrow. Daktari is thrilled. He believes he will have one of the best dispensaries around, and promises me 5 years of efficiency in maintaining an orderly and well-inventoried storeroom. On December 28, daktari is planning a celebration at the dispensary, inviting the committee (board of directors) to honor the new storeroom and for me to explain what has been done, and the new inventory system that will be initiated. We will serve chai and fresh fruit. In the meantime, I have other responsibilities - nutrition ed. to the many groups. Today is a quick trip to Bondo, as I have a two-hour nutrition class for the Community Health Workers (CHW) this afternoon.

My vitamin A food project is moving along. I was unable to find a source for bulk carrot seeds, and no time to request a donation from the seed company in Nairobi. But, talking to CHW, have come up with another plan. The CHW suggested they each contribute pumpkin seeds to be pooled and distributed to villagers for planting. After that, pumpkins will generate their own seeds. For carrots, which almost no villager eats, as they are not grown locally, Sozan suggested a community garden. But where, and who would tend, organize, etc? Mama na Dada has a garden space near the main house that is not in production, so we asked what about having the garden as a M na D project, and volunteers could help with, and CHW could distribute? Well, this project manager of M na D named Daniel, arrived from Nairobi yesterday, to stay and work with us. He called Joyce, the director in Nairobi, and she gave the thumbs up on the garden. I have carrot seed, so we just need to scare up some cultivation tools to get started, and the other volunteers are enthusiastic to help. It has been raining, unseasonably, so the soil will be workable.

Dona, the M na D rep taking care of us, wants us (volunteers) to go with her to her mother's home for Christmas. She and her younger sister, Nora, who is helping during her school break, assure us that their mother is wonderful, has a nice house, lots of delicious food, and room to comfortably take care of all of us. We will pay for a private vehicle, which will really help, as it is several hours away, and public transport is sold out for the holidays. Not only is Christmas a huge holiday (not commercial) for people traveliing to families, but Dec. 27 is voting day, so people will also be traveling to their home voting place. This is a huge election - once every 5 years the entire government turns over. There is a good chance that the present President may be replaced, and all members of Parliament are subject to election at the same time. Parliament is suspended prior to the election, so a completely new one can be voted for. There is strong support for the Luo candidate of the ODM party. This is Luo land, so much excitement here. Of course, no one can tell you what the candidate stands for, just that he is one of them (still tribal lines in politics here) and is a good man and hard worker. Idealisticly, they do not believe he will be corrupt, which he probably already is, as it seems to be part of the fiber of government. But, I too hope for the best. The county has great potential, and just needs strong, courageous (and honest!) leadership.

So much more, but I must go to get back in time for my class. Hoping next weekend to travel 15 km past Ragengni to Lawanda to experience the ferry ride (on Lake Victoria) to Mbita, which I hear is a tourist place, and maybe can have a good fish meal before returning. Ride is 60 KSM each way (less than $1) and takes about 50 minutes. So, maybe no internet next weekend.

Merry Christmas and other happy holiday greetings. All the best for the new year, if I don't get back before. Thinking of you all, and still looking forward to that shower. I could dump water over me now, and Sozan has a solar shower (black polyethylene bag that warms in the sun), but I'm holding out for the real thing. In the meantime, just washing good all over, morning and night. Staying well, and finally got some natural peanut butter for days with insufficient protein. Meals are lacking to very good at M na D, but overall good. I've explained about complete protein, but some meals don't have. Finally got fish - one time. I'm happy with beans and rice in one meal. I also bought whole grain bread and brown rice in Kisumu last weekend. Dona didn't know what brown rice is, but has served it twice. The first time, she served us a pot each of brown and white in case we didn't like the brown. It seems she got the message when we only ate the brown, so last night was only brown.

Best to all. Love to family and close friends.
Denise

Advertisement



Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb