Christmas and Elections in Kenya


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nyanza Province » Kisumu
December 29th 2007
Published: December 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone! The excitement here is all about the general election (last one 5 years ago), but first, let me bring you up to date since last week and Christmas.

While at the internet place here in Bondo last Saturday, I printed my handout for that afternoon's nutrition class for the Community Health Workers. I asked an attendant here to make 40 copies (5 page handout). When I went to check out and get my copies, he had only made 1 copy. Normally, not an issue, especially since I had shopping to do and could return.....but, a line had formed for the copy machine that went outside the entrance! Primary school test results (8th grade - for passing and qualifying for secondary school) were out, and teachers/whoever were lined up to make copies of their printouts. So, I made sure they understood 40 copies, 2-sided and stapled before I embarked for hardware supplies.

Winston (latest volunteer arrival) and I went to the hardware store to purchase paint and supplies needed to complete the storeroom shelf project at Kunya Dispensary. Winston had the new experience of riding on the back of a boda boda (passenger bicycle), but after the first ride and fear of falling off, she came to love this simple (and nonpolluting!) mode of transportation. I had the delightful surprise of seeing Maggie (from Majiwa) outside the hardware store. She was running errands for the Gayas, and reported back my hello and regrets that I had an obligation that day and unable to come and visit, even though they are so close to Bondo. In another world with personal automobile, etc., would have had plenty of time to do all. But, this is here, and things take much more time. In addition to meeting Maggie, I also enjoyed small conversations with vendors at the veg/fruit marketplace who recognized me and asked if I am still around. I told them I was now in Kunya, to which they replied, "but you are still around." Yes, I am still around. For a few more days. Unfortunately, the package my stepsister, Karma, mailed me in November still has not arrived. After Wednesday, I will be several hours from here, and no longer "around."

After grocery shopping, Wins and I boarded a matatu for Ndori, where we would transfer to another for Ragengni. As we started to get settled, Wins inquired about my handout copies, thank goodness. Although the matatu driver said we were ready to leave, the vehicle was not even half full, and matatus go nowhere without being overloaded, so I jumped out and ran to get my copies. Well, well. Can you guess they had barely begun, and getting to my class on time now seems impossible. The CHW coordinator's warning to all that the class will start at 2 pm "sharp" - and not "African time" was my only hope. So, going into my zen mode, I patiently waited for the copies, and helped collate and staple (the machine doesn't). In the meantime, the matatu filled and was ready to go, so Wins got out with our stuff and had boarded a different matatu. Which was better, because this one was new, and very nice inside. Unfortunately, the ride to Ndori is the short part of the trip. When we arrived at Ndori, an overfull matatu was ready to go, but of course encouraged us to squeeze in. Wins said "I'm not getting in there," but I climbed in, saying I had to get to my class. Uncomplaining, she followed me in to the fullest matatu yet for me. We had 23 passengers in a 14 passenger vehicle. Less than 5 minutes down the road, the vehicle started smoking and came to a clunking stop. After 10 or 15 minutes, the conductors and volunteers from the vehicle, wrenches in hand, had us going again. But very slowly, especially compared to the breakneck speed some drive at (did I say that! No worries, folks!). So, more patience - makuna matata, you know (even if that is kiswahili and this is Luo land). We arrived at the meeting place at 2:30 to 4 waiting CHW lounging in the shade. Thank goodness no one took the "2 pm sharp" warning seriously. So, had to wait for a critical mass before beginning....as usual.

So, let me divert, and tell you about Winston (30 year old female from Philadelphia). She is a news director/radio announcer for a station that broadcasts NPR. She is here as a volunteer for VV to do interviews, news pieces, etc., on the programs which will be broadcast on her station, NPR - I'm unsure of the details. So, she went with me that day to see Bondo and experience my class, the people, etc. She has interviewed me about my activities and dispensary storeroom project (and helped me paint!), and who knows, I might be mentioned on her radio report. I think they will be broadcast in February. Everything is archived on the station website, so I will listen to all the reports after my return to the US and broadband!

Back to the class, which went well. We got in to quite a discussion about diabetes, and we could have had another session on that. Many thoughtful questions and insights. Diabetes is on the rise here - previously almost unheard of, and in children, too. I asked what is different now. One of the CHW women, very articulate in English told me that her observation is those getting diabetes are eating white bread, using white flour for cooking, and eating less beans. Part of the problem stems from high grain and bean prices when crops are low from drought. White bread is quite cheap, and is a staple food here. We also discussed the lack of fruits and vegetables in the diets of many villagers, and I've described how that contributes to health problems and disease, including diabetes. The CHW get it, and asked how to eat to prevent diabetes, and manage it if someone has it. Doctors tell patients to stop eating sugar and white bread, which helps, and I explained why carbohydrates are a problem, and how to manage. Given more time here, I would give a carb counting class with handouts for food carb values. Would be great for one or two of the best to become certified diabetes educators. Anyway, I am done with commitments here - time to finish up and move on.

I have so much more to tell about this past week - the storeroom project and dedication, Christmas and the elections - the country is electrified. The attendant here is alone today and wants to go for lunch, so I have to stop here.

Sozan and Jayne left today. Jayne was my roomie, and I was her cockroach remover. So, I will miss her and the late night panic over dropping cockroaches (on her mosquito net).

Got to run. Hope to finish this in the next week. Happy New Year to all if I don't get back before.

Best to all,
Denise



Advertisement



Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb