My Luxury Safari Surprise


Advertisement
Africa
July 18th 2018
Published: July 31st 2018
Edit Blog Post

When my husband told me we were going on a safari for our wedding anniversary I decided that he must have lost his mind. I do not enjoy camping, I am terrified of bugs, and my idea of exploring the great outdoors is a walk through a city park. But he had taken the initiative to plan the whole trip by himself so I tried to show a little more enthusiasm than I felt when he presented me with the tickets. The trip was fantastic and so much more luxurious than anything I had ever imagined.

We flew into Johannesburg, rented a car and headed off to Kruger National Park. We were warned beforehand not to try the drive at night so we left the city at about 1pm and we reached the park just before nightfall. We settled into our private lodge and enjoyed a fabulous meal on our patio before we snuggled on our patio and gazed at the stunning night sky.

The next few days passed in a blur of trekking with private guides, joining expeditions in comfy off-road vehicles, and seeing so many majestic animals in their natural setting. We saw majestic giraffes nibbling on leaves, a pride of lions, a parade of elephants drinking at a waterhole, and watched herds of zebras running across the plains. Everywhere that you looked there was something new to see and I was amazed by the brightly coloured birds, different kinds of insects and the playful nature of some of the lizards. We even took the time to enjoy a couple of trips to the spa where we were pampered and spoiled beyond my wildest dreams.

The days were filled with amazing adventures that were capped off by stunning sunsets that we watched from the privacy of our own home while enjoying fabulous dining. We were catered to by the staff and the service was some of the finest that I have ever experienced. We had indoor and outdoor showers and fabulous amenities that were bug free!

On the last day of our trip my husband surprised me again by waking me up before dawn so that we could go for a hot air balloon to see the sun rise. The ride was fabulous. They presented us with coffee which we drank while we watched the dramatic balloons inflate with air. The trip was about an hour long and then we stopped and enjoyed a luxurious breakfast before we headed back to our private lodge.

The safari was an amazing experience and one that I would recommend to anyone looking for something to do that is off the beaten path. We experienced no queues, did not have to wait for anything and we were catered to beyond my wildest expectations. Before when I thought of going on a luxury holiday I never would have thought of a safari, but now I know how luxurious it can be I can't wait to go again.
We took a private flight back to Johannesburg and landed with enough time to do a bit of sight-seeing before we caught our flight home. I have already let my husband know that he will be planning the trip for our next big anniversary.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.437s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb