Returning Home - Recap


Advertisement
Africa
July 26th 1100
Published: November 3rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

This tiring, yet fascinating trip comes to an end as I take my first step home in about six weeks. Zanzibar looks just as I have left it and my wife is there to greet me as I step off of my ship. It’s good to be home and I cannot wait to bring and share my knowledge from around the city-states. My home is in the stone town which I know will be big one day. I can just feel it. I hope someone finds my travels inspiring, but for now I must take a break from writing and incorporate my knowledge into my everyday trading. I’ll check back in the future!



It is now the year 2017 and Zanzibar along with the rest of the Swahili states look quite different. Zanzibar is located in present day Tanzania. Through the many years of Africans, Arabs, Indians, Persians, Portuguese, Dutch and English meeting and mingling here on the coast, they have left behind a distinctive stone architecture, to which is now called the Stone Town. The Stone Town is a World Heritage Site which is a landmark selected by the United Nations (UNESCO) as having cultural, historical, scientific or other form of significance, and is legally protected by international treaties. Pretty cool how this one small part of the Swahili states could have such huge significance to the world all these years later. Zanzibar today also has 1,600 kilometers of roads, but is not nearly as wealthy as we were once. Although this concludes my journey, I hope you do not forget about the experiences I have described to you, for they will last a lifetime for me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.478s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb