Lusaka to Kariba Town


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Lusaka
November 24th 2015
Published: December 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

When I came back to the hostel there was a mirror pitching a tent and I got confused. Just as tall, if not taller, a guy named Magnus has had his dreadlocks for 14 years. He is from Germany just traveling through Africa like me! We joined forces and conquered all things Livingstone had to offer for some days. We had plans to visit some gorge where there was a Trance party going on for a few days but it rained and we waited til it was dry to move. It really sucks to be in a tent and have to pack up when its wet. It sucks so much I sacrificed a day to get it right. Aaaaand luck be had I was enquiring about a bus to the capital when a South African lady offered a ride straight through! Magnus asked her as well and she just signed up for two rasta travel buddies! We caught a lift to Lusaka and got out on the right street, just the wrong backpackers. We waltzed in with proper information; USD$5 for camping, right? No. ummmm….well isn’t this Kalulu backpackers? Yes. No. its next door. Oh. Well how much is a dorm bed. K60 (USD$5). Well then! We’ll take two! What a treat its been a while since I was in a bed. Unfortunately again, TIA, and at 2am the heat was too much, the mosquitos were rampant, and some assclown was snoring louder than a chainsaw. Also, someone’s alarm went off 3 separate times before I yelled and he woke up to shut it off. Oh by the way, we found out by observation that this hostel caters to single business men. WEIRD! So one of the worst nights sleep in Africa so far I was up in the am to lounge the morning away before catching a 3pm bus to Kariba Town in Zimbabwe. The map seemed to show about a 3 hour ride and TIA seems overused by this point, but it was 7pm by the time we got to the border and another hour waiting in line til I was about to show my bag to a customs lady when a soldier came up and looked at my papers and informed me that if I didn’t have anything to declare to just go through. Goddamnit…I hoped to arrive in the daylight but instead I arrived at 10:30pm at Warthog’s Bush Camp where there was two sleepy workers and that’s all. Oh boy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb