The Pieces Fall Together


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Lusaka
March 31st 2009
Published: March 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow...it seems like there is so much to say, I have begun volunteering at a clinic named Tiny Tim and Friends which treats orphans and women with HIV. Its a very intense, sobering experience yet obviously very interesting and (I hate to say it) rather fun. Most of the patients, since they are receiving high quality (free!!) treatment at Tiny Tim's are fairly healthy with minor complaints and then some are more complicated, all of the work though is incredibly absorbing. I have just now (this morning) moved out of the house I was in and into a new living arrangement with my friend, Erin. Erin also works at Tiny Tim which is how I met her and we were both in awkward living arrangements so we gave up cheapness for comfort (I suppose that's what comes of having money: even when you don't need to spend it, you do...strange, isn't it?).

I also have begun working at an organization for poor kids from rural areas who are chosen (based on intelligence theoretically) to live and go to school in Lusaka. In May I will move in with the kids (who call me Auntie) and will be a full-time teacher/tutor.

This past weekend Tej had a bri (South African for barbeque) at their "plot", which is something apparently all wealthy Lusakans have, a gorgeous piece of land out in the countryside with a lazy river winding through. I spent the day supporting small children as they splashed in the river and eating Zambian fresh water crayfish. Their was also a large market (called the Saturday market even though it only happens once a month) which I attended more for research purposes then anything else (believe it or not, I have not bought ANYTHING unnecessary since my arrival) as I've been assigned with arranging a money-making scheme for my new job. I'm teaching the girls how to knit and crochet.

All in all, its starting to feel like I'm living a normal way of life. I know my way around town, I have my own cab-drivers so I don't get ripped off (and I know how to take the buses!), I have figured out which food not to eat (not even the hard way....there has been no repeat of my Turkish fun (Melissa knows what I'm talking about)). So...I think I might be here long enough to take visitors (start planning people!!).

Gotta run, I'm working at the Clinic today and I'm just on lunch break right now.

Later,
Andrea

Advertisement



1st April 2009

Pieces coming together
So, why "Tiny Tim?" I guess I will have to explore the site to find out; and how did you become an "Auntie" so quickly? Will your full-time teaching include math, or just money-making schemes, or both? I'd like to hear about the new living arrangement... I've been shopping for clothes that I don't need, including tight-legged pants, which are comfortable, but I'm afraid my butt may stick out without wearing really long shirts. I'm sort of making up for your lack of frivolous shopping. D.C. is so gloomy-looking that it hardly matters that the trees are all in bloom; supposedly it will be sunny this weekend, and the world will revel in the cherry blossom festivities.
14th April 2009

Slog blog
I believe that your blog is moving forward as quickly as the folks on the street of Lusaka.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb