Quick note


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda
July 16th 2006
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello!
I'm writing this post from a small home in the hills near Mbale, where I've been living with a coffee cooperative family. The internet works via satellite somehow - it's crazy. We barely have electricity, yet here I am writing this!

Uganda is really great so far. We're staying with this huge Jewish family. There are 10 original kids and about 20 adopted kids. The newest adoptee (who has only been in the house for one week) is very cute, but very sick. He is clearly malnourished and also has malaria. He cries a lot too. It's really hard to see.

The coffee cooperative we're visiting, Peace Kawomera, is based on the idea of different faith communities working together - and so far it seems to be working great. We've visited a mosque (where I wore a headscarf for the first time in my life), celebrated Shabbat (Ugandan Judaism is particularly interesting), and been guests at a church service, all in 3 days! It's definitely been a learning experience for me.

The farm animals here are also really great - baby goats and cows, lots of ridiculous turkeys, even really amazing spiders. And very sweet dogs. I'm in heaven with all the animals.

Languages here are crazy - there's Luganda, Lugisu, Lugueso, and English. And still some Swahili. And most people speak at least 2 or 3 - so different from the US.

I also have been lucky enough to meet up with Jon. He surprised me by coming up to the house I'm staying at on Friday evening, and yesterday we visited him at his hotel and went swimming. He got to meet the other 16 members of my group, and hear all about our inside jokes and some of our (mis)adventures. I was really lucky to be able to share that with him! On Wednesday, we meet up again to do a little bit of relaxing/tourism. I am really excited.

Anyhow, I need to hand off the computer to someone else. Hope all is well.





Advertisement



18th July 2006

Hi L! The interfaith cooperative sounds fascinating! I cant wait to hear all about it! Im so glad you and Jon got to meet up...give him a big hug for me! Im going to answer your email soon, Ive just been saving it for plenty of time to send you a proper one. Im so glad things are going well in Africa...I miss you! baccio, Ellen

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb