Matatu heaven


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
July 23rd 2006
Published: July 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I've finally reached Kampala - my home for the next month! It feels good to be in a place that I am going to stay in for longer than a week or so. Kampala is the capital city of Uganda and is definitely the largest city I've seen in some time.

Getting to Kampala has involved a lot of chaos and a LOT of matatus. A matatu (ma.tah.too) is a van filled to the brim with people and works a little like a taxi and a little like public transportation. Matatus drive up and down the major roads all throughout Uganda (and Kenya and Tanzania as well, really), and a Matatu worker sticks his head out the window announcing the general area that the Matatu is going. If you want to take the matatu, you signal the guy, the van pulls over, and you squish in. Then you yell at the driver when you're ready to get out. It's a little chaotic, and you definitely need to know exactly where you're going or trouble will ensue. I took my first matatu ride this morning, and have taken quite a few since then. They are definitely the cheapest and most available form of transportation around!

The last week has been great but intense at the same time. Last week, we lived near Mbale in the rural region I talked about earlier. I had the chance to get to know JJ's family pretty well, and got to live a simple life for a few days. I was really sad to leave JJ and his family - they were overly generous and warm to our group. I also enjoyed living out in the rural area a lot! Other than the wasps behind the "toilet" (hole in the ground) and the threat of biting bugs... I liked doing my laundry and hanging it on the line, helping prepare meals, and the amazing night sky. Not to mention baby goats, turkeys, chickens, dogs, cows, etc.

After our time with JJ, our group split apart for 2 free days. Jon met me in Mbale and we went to Sipi Falls, about an hour from Mbale. We stayed at a really cute little place called the Crows Nest, where we could see the 99m main falls from our front porch. Our second day in Sipi, we hiked to all 4 waterfalls (and by chance, some of my group members were staying at the Crows Nest, so we all went together). The hike was beautiful but a little intense for 4 hours. It was 7km of really shaky footing and steep slopes. We did get to go swimming in a small (COLD!) natural pool, explore a cave, and see amazing views of the African plains which spread out to our west. It was an awesome experience - Jon and I had a great time.

Next, the group met up in Jinja, one of the sources of the Nile River. I had to say goodbye to my USFT group in Jinja yesterday. It was hard to say goodbye so soon! I really had a great time with everyone, and I will definitely miss them in the days and weeks to come. After the big goodbye, Jon and I attempted to explore Jinja together. A long story ensues (ask one of us when we get home). Needless to say - we saw the source of the great Nile river. Pretty cool, we thought. 😊

Now I'm settling in at the Blue Mango in Kampala. I'll have much better internet access, so the updates should be regular. On a sad/exciting note, Jon leaves me tomorrow, and I'm all on my own!

More soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb