Almost Done


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda
July 31st 2019
Published: August 2nd 2019
Edit Blog Post

I finished up my last week in Rugazi and have completed our two-week rotation at the Mbarara Regional Referral Hospital. I worked in the Toto and Natasha wards (malnutrition) as well as Pediatric Admissions and Outpatient Department. The latter two were definitely my favourite as I enjoyed listening to the differentials and learning more about the Ugandan healthcare system. One case that stood out to me was a jaundice baby that was born with a defective liver. The doctor in the room informed me that organ transplants are not done in Uganda so the mother would have to take the baby to another country, which she likely could not afford, and thus the baby was going to die. The following week one of the nutrition students and myself gave an impromptu nutrition talk on hypertension in the Outpatient Department. These are just a few of the experiences I had. It is hard to believe that our clinical work is done. We are spending our last bit of time on safari and then hanging out in Entebbe until our flights back home. This experience has been pretty amazing, and I look forward to applying the things I learned to my practicum this fall.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0958s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb