Ssese and Mbarara


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Western Region » Mbarara
May 23rd 2019
Published: May 23rd 2019
Edit Blog Post

Hello blog world,

its been a week since my last blog and I am wanting to update at least once a week, since my last post…

I have been and gone to Ssese islands, we ended up going to the biggest of all the islands Bugala Island. We stayed in Kalangala at the Brovad Sands resort. It was so beautiful, we stayed 2 days and 3 nights, unfortunately the ferry to take us across from Entebbe was supposed to leave at 2pm… but we didn’t leave Entebbe until after 6pm, so it was dark by the time we reached the islands, so we just ate and crashed hard from the day of hanging out in the sun. I wouldn’t complain though as we got to lounge in the grass right on the edge of lake victoria, no shame in the boat being late when your with good company and hanging in the sun!!

A little bit about how the heck I ended up in Africa… I was awarded the Queen Elizabeth Scholarship along with 6 other health sciences students from the University of Saskatchewan and I feel immensely blessed to have been chosen. I found out around Christmas time of 2018, so this was the best Christmas present I received that year and probably for the next few years!! There are 3 nursing students, myself included, 1 veterinarian student (the only male scholar), and three nutrition students. So far we are a pretty solid group and are having a great time getting to know each other, they all get to bond over laughing at me… going so far as to keep a note of the hilarious/dumb things I say… which I think is awesome!



I am currently a fourth year nursing student, aspiring to work with children as a pediatric nurse. My favourite age group is newborn to about 5 years old… but I genuinely love all kids!



The Green Valley guesthouse we have been staying at began to feel like home, we have been so blessed by the people we have come in contact with thus far. Green valley was home to a few families living in the staff area and the kids were hilarious, we even got ourselves involved in a heated game of hide’n’seek that just proved I’m terrible at the game as the kids (6 and4 years) kicked my butt.



And finally we are now at the Mbarara University where we will live in a dorm-like house for the next few weeks and start our course in a few days. I am very excited to finally be moving towards the actual goal of the QES program and that we will get to start working alongside the Ugandan students.



Thank you for reading I am not sure how this blogging thing goes but I hope it’s okay,



Brooke

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb