Mbarara... at last!


Advertisement
Africa
June 1st 2019
Published: June 1st 2019
Edit Blog Post

RolexRolexRolex

My first ever rolex... 10/10
Hello Bloggers,



I have now been in Uganda for a little over two weeks, Mbarara is now starting to feel like home to me, and we are getting a better feel for making our way through the town.



Myself, and two other scholars attended church last Sunday, and may I say that I have never felt so loved, welcomed and blessed in a church than I did here in Mbarara. From the moment we stepped into the building we were literally greeted with open arms and warm embraces. The worship was loud and “hoppin” and I knew many of the songs. Halfway through worship we were made to stand up and introduce ourselves, it felt very natural and none of us were nervous to speak to an entire congregation, we then received a little gift of appreciation and love for coming to their church. Pastor Peter was amazing and spoke on why we have a hope in Jesus, and spoke with a lot of passion, but listening to him speak was just like being at home in Canada. All three of us were then welcomed into his office and talked for a good while about
first home cooked family meal! first home cooked family meal! first home cooked family meal!

fish, carrots, onions, and wild rice! pretty successful
what we were doing in Uganda and I felt very much accepted into this church! We are definitely going back this coming Sunday.



We spent a few hours over the course of two days at a local orphanage. The children were so adorable and just swarmed to us, hugging and climbing all over us. Most of the children were between the ages of 3-5years, and mostly male. The ratios of males to females was about 8:2, in Ugandan culture males grow up and are given land and resources and many families cant provide for their sons this expectation and so they are therefore unable to care for them. This orphanage was run through the Catholic Church and these children will receive nursery care, then primary schooling, secondary schooling, and if I’m not mistaken may be able to go to University. This was my very first time in an orphanage and I was overwhelmed with emotions and found myself tearing up thinking of how many children were in front of me, there were approx. 130 young children in this particular orphanage. I sat with a little girl on my lap and she would take my arms across her
2nd family meal2nd family meal2nd family meal

pasta with lentils, and baby eggplants and carrots! yummy!
body very tight, so I turned her against me and she cuddled right into my body and almost drifted off to sleep in the middle of her lesson, she was very precious!



Today we also toured the Mbarara University Hospital, getting to walk around the wards and meet some of the staff. The hospital is quite small in comparison to any hospital I have ever worked in but is over capacity all the time, taking care of as many patients as a larger hospital one would find in Canada. We were told just because a unit has a certain amount of beds, that doesn’t mean that is how many patients one nurse looks after, as there can be a few patients to a bed and there are foam mattresses on the floor for others, which can also have more than one patient on them. So this will be a new but incredible practice for myself as a future nurse and I am so excited to begin working on the units and getting to meet and know the people I will be able to provide care for.



Finally, my least favourite animal is now the
University Baptist ChurchUniversity Baptist ChurchUniversity Baptist Church

everyone was so lovely, and those little roses in our hands were just such a lovely gift! so welcomed
rooster…



See ya later,

Brooke.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Pastor PeterPastor Peter
Pastor Peter

The woman taking the photo invited us to her wedding! very excited!


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb