Safari - day 11


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Western Region » Kabale
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

We arrived at Lake Bunyoni (near Kabale) on tuesday afternoon and set up our tents. We then proceeded to have a big party, as often seems to happen when we arrive at a new campsite - I guess we always need to test the bar out! Most of the group had to get up the next day to move on to Rwanda to trek the gorillas, but as I (and one other from my truck) had decided not to, we spent the day relaxing at the campsite, and getting to know the other people there.

The restuarant/bar here is quite amazingly slow! We ordered our food last night and it took 2 hours to arrive! And I even had to wait an hour for toast this morning! But, as everyone seems to say - TIA (this is africa). I have befriended one of the restaurant staff called Godfrey, and he seems to keep a closer eye for me on whether my food has been cooked or not, so I didn't have to wait quite so long for lunch today.

We met up with a few people from another overland truck who are also staying behind whilst their group goes into Rwanda, and we all threw ourselves in the lake today for a swim - apparently the lake is free of water snails, so I hopefully won't get Bilharzia! I have also been told that there are no crocodiles in it, but I still didn't dare stray too far from the edge just in case... Apart from that I have been sleeping a lot as I don't have to get up to get on the truck early in the morning for a few days - luxury!

Tomorrow I think we might hire a canoe out from the campsite and go across the lake to an island in the middle with a pizzaria on it (random!) for our lunch, and then the rest of the group join us again tomorrow afternoon. We then move on again the day after, heading back towards Kenya.



Advertisement



21st June 2007

I'm at work!
Hey Sweetie! I am so happy to hear you are having a good time! Can't wait to see the pictures too. God bless Godfrey! You always know that food related people make great friends! ;) Keep me posted and in the meantime I will enjoy my UK work life! Next time you globtrot remind me to come with! Have a brilliant time and stroke some wild animals for me...Ems xx

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb