Behind a great time in Kiwangala/Lake Mburo NP, ahead working in Kibale NP!


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Western Region » Fort Portal
May 16th 2008
Published: May 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I hope you all are fine! I read that the weather in the Netherlands is very good last weeks. That's good to know, cause it means probably that you're somehow having a good time.

At the moment I'm back in Kampala. But that is however only for one night. Tomorrow I'll meet the director of the FACE foundation in Kampala and we'll travel together to Kibale national park, about a day of traveling from Kampala if everything goes well. I am very exited about what awaits me there. At this moment the only thing I really know about it is that I will be there on saturday, sunday and monday, when the director will leave again. What will happen after is still a surprise. I will receive my instructions the coming weekend.

Last 2 weeks however I've been preparing me for the internship. I came to know many things about the project and many things involving it. Most of this time I spent in Kiwangala, and there I really had a excellent time! It's so different than staying here in Kampala. If I got the possibility to come back there I'll certainly go.

Last monday I went with Mike from Kiwangala to Lake Mburo Nationalpark. We spent there the Tuesday and came back in Kiwangala on wednesday. This trip was a real adventure! I feel sorry that Nina didn't see it...It was great! The park is missing some of the big animals like giraffe, elephant and lions, but so much other smaller species. Apart from many birds, butterflies and what ever other creature we saw buffalo's, hippo's, crocodils, hyena's, zebra's, elands, bushduikers, bushbokken, waterbokken, impala's, wrathogs, baboons, other monkeys, topi's, and we only heard, though close, a leopard.

Most of the animals we saw on tuesday when we went for a guided nature walk of 6 hours through the bushsavannah. Some of them on the boattrip in the afternoon. However, our house was also surrounded by all kind of animals at night. Espescially the first night was sometimes a bit scary, but the second night we were already able to give most of the sounds a animal to which it belonged to. Most dangerous however was a silent guest, passing the road just before our house, a green mamba snake.

So all together it was a great experience.

Greetings to all of you, and wish you all the best!

Joeri

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb