The first days in Kibale


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Western Region » Fort Portal
May 20th 2008
Published: May 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I didn't expect to have the change to write here so soon after my last writings, but since I have the change...

Saturday I met the director of FACE foundation and the director of Climate Care, both from Holland, in Kampala. The place where we met was the Speke Hotel, in one of the richest parts of town. Is is an incredible wealthy place. A small bottle of water is there 2000 USH, while the normal price anywhere else is 500 USH. But they paid for me so it was no problem to me!

After dinner we drove to Kibale nationalpark, of course with a private driver...These two people, Eveline and Denis stayed there from saturday till monday morning and in this time we had several meetings with the staff members of UWA(Uganda Wildlife Authority)/FACE, and we made a trip along many new planted forest sides, where we were showed how work is going on, the new findings, the difficulties with fire and elephants, etc. Also we checked the workers facilities, and the nursery. It was very interesting. In the same days I received the instructions for my job there. In a nutshell it is to put information from different existing documents into one new document. This is new document is namely a new kind of certification to show clients of FACE that the project is good. If you want to know what the aims are of the FACE foundation, you can find it on their website. I'm sorry, but explaining would cost me some time...Anyway, the following time till my time in Uganda is up, I will be mainly found there in Kibale. Beside my job, I will have time to do some work in the field with UWA just to gain some experience. I already saw Chimpansees, the most famous animals of the park. And my neighbours there are baboons. And I don't really like them by the way...It's hard to keep them out of the house, and whenever they get the change they steel whatever they want...And they are aggressive too. But, I'll have to learn to live with them, and it is also a interesting experience of course. Other animals that are very abundant there are forest elephants.

At the moment I am in Bulenga/Kampala, to pick up my things that I left there and tell the people here my programme. Tomorrow I'll go to Kiwangala for the same reason, and on saturday or sunday I will be back in Kibale to start with the work. I even get payment for the work btw!

So, that was it for the moment. Hope you're all fine!

Joeri

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb