A Few Interesting Notes


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Northern Region
June 13th 2010
Published: June 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Still in Gulu, Northern Uganda as far as geography is concerned.

I don't have any groundbreaking revelations today haha. Just a couple interesting notes that fell through the cracks while I frantically tried to finish stories in past blog entries. When I get home I am going to use a computer for 5 minutes and be done. I am used to working at a fast pace now thanks to the requirements of the internet cafe.

An interesting aspect of Acholi life is how the people communicate. For some background, a culture can be said to communicate directly, blatantly expressing an individual's opinions or needs such as in America. A culture may also communicate more indirectly. They hint at things by what they say instead of expressing what they are truly thinking as bluntly as we do. It isn't a black and white situation, but a culture falls somewhere along a line with direct at one end and indirect at the other to varying degrees.

The other day my sister and I were working to prepare dinner. I pulled out my cell to text a friend in the program. She asked me if I had another phone back in America. I explained to her how it was cheaper for me to buy a throw away phone in Uganda than try to figure out getting my American phone to work here. She then asked what I would be doing with it after the program. I began to catch on at this point. I told her I would be using the same phone for the leg of the journey which will take us to Rwanda. She then asked what I would be doing with it after that. I told her I planned on having it as a keepsake, but figured a phone being used is better than a phone sitting on my shelf at home. I told her I would mail it to her before I fly out of Entebbe to head home. I then told her that the Acholi ask for things so nicely, haha. Another anecdote relating to this: My friend is living with a man who asks his wife for things very nicely. He will say something like "If you got me a banana, I wouldn't say no." "If you got me another cup of tea, I wouldn't say no." You get the idea.

Another thing I have learned here is to appreciate the simple things. A woman walked by my front stoop the other day. I was sitting there reading a book about the conflict here in the north. She said to me "You are reading?" I looked up and confirmed that I was. She simply looked at me, smiled, and said "That is good!" It just shows that the talentswe have developed and we take for granted in America have easily been disrupted here. Many of the 25,000 children abducted by the LRA were in school or physically at school at the time of their abduction. This ended any hope for their education which is one of the few paths to a better life here in Gulu.


Advertisement



14th June 2010

Ko'pongo
Hi Bob, Thank you for writing about your time in Africa. It is so very interesting and it's nice to know how you're doing. I printed out your first six entries for Nana to read and she was enthralled. She was so quiet that I thought she had fallen asleep. If you write more, we won’t mind. If you post pictures, we won’t mind that either. Stay safe. Love, Mary Ellen
14th June 2010

Bob, when you get home I think you are going to need to write a book about your travels! You will need to spend a lot of time on the computer though! Love your stories!!
15th June 2010

"You are reading"--so are we
Thanks for the insights into daily life. A simple statement of fact like "You are reading" might mean something other than what it appears to mean. A Peace Corps friend of mine called such statements "the present obvious tense". Here's a good example: "You are here," someone might say to you shortly after you arrive somewhere. There's no arguing with the fact, but what purpose is served remarking upon it? Linguistically, it might just be a pretext to open up a space for conversation. The acceptable bounds of "small talk" vary from culture to culture. In Africa, "small talk" can be about quite small things--thanks to the present obvious tense. Can't wait to see you in the Kaunda suit!
24th July 2010

Faux Pas - Uganda
Hi Bob: I am going with a Medical Missions Group to Watato, Gulu, Uganda in Sept. I have been asked to find out what we should be aware of so as to not to make any huge Faux Pas. Could you give me a head's up where to find info or pass on any you have found yourself. Have a meeting tomorrow (no less) and need some info ASAP. Thanks for any help.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0877s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb