My Kaunda Suit Is Being Made As We Speak


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Northern Region
June 9th 2010
Published: June 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

How does it feel being an American outsider in the country? Do you notice any major differences of how your treated or how you expected to be treated? What kind of stuff do they do in their free time? I would be interested to see what the people's take is on the major issues being discussed in the U.S. such as the oil spill, war on terror, environmental efforts etc.

To start, I will address some questions Ryan Vernizzle, one of my chill bros from Psi U, demanded some answers to. I am quite comfortable being an American in an outside country. The people of Gulu are quite fond of Americans aka Munu aka Muzungu. There is a large NGO presence (non-governmental organization i.e. invisible children, oxfam, etc. for you engineers reading this). They see the Munu (white people, travelers, foreigners) as being quite helpful to the people of Gulu and all of northern Uganda. I don't really appreciate the term Muzungu or Munu (Acholi word for Muzungu) since it is so loaded. Just as in America, words do not simply mean exactly what their corresponding definition is. Being a Munu draws attention and leads people to draw certain assumptions about you, financial status, and perceptions. They also believe Munu are weak. They must apply lotion or their skin will burn. Munu are weak and cannot carry their own baggage or water. These odd people must boil water or drink it from a bottle. They need a toilet that flushes and is more than a 4 inx 3 in hole in the ground?!?! My sister Irene was quite surprised when she took a break carrying water and I picked up both to continue back to our home. She was not sure a Munu could do these things. They also often say "you people" in reference to Muzungu.

They do a lot of the same things we do in our free time. My family and I usually end up watching a stand up comedy show called "Mic Check" each night while we veg out in front of the tv. The only difference is they have much less free time to do these things. People often hang out at the bar when they have a free night. With the world cup approaching, the people of Uganda are getting extremely excited. We were warned the town may stop functioning and fall dead during the games. People also like to go out dancing.

The major U.S. issue they are focusing on right now is the bill Obama just signed committing the U.S. military to helping eliminate the LRA, the rebel group I mentioned in my previous posts. The U.S. must be extremely careful in pursuing this objective though. The LRA was quickly labeled as a terrorist organization after 9/11 so the less than honest president, Museveni, quickly earned this status for the group so that he would receive U.S. assistance. Many issues will arise. First, the conflict reminds me of Vietnam. U.S. troops will be on the ground in Uganda, Chad, Southern Sudan, and the DRC. They will be fighting in extremely unfamiliar terrain. The LRA has been so successful because of their ability to navigate the dense bush in small groups while carrying out devastatingly effective attacks. Secondly, the LRA is notorious for their abduction of over 25,000 children who have become soldiers and are forced to kill in their training. Often times their first act involves killing their own family they are being abducted from. U.S. soldiers will be fighting boys as young as 13 years old. Third, this conflict is not simply Ugandan, but international in nature. Many countries have played a roll and Pres. Museveni's National Resistance Army/Movement is not innocent of committing many attrocities against the demonized Acholi people of the north.

On a side note, the Ugandans are pursuing plans to drill for oil in Lake Victoria. This lake is the source of the Nile river which runs through a number of countries. Many people depend heavily on it. They would do well to learn from the American's failures in the gulf. Also, African countries with valuable resources often fall into conflict. Examples include the DRC, Sierra Leone, and Nigeria. Poorly organized institutions, a lack of accountability, and greedy presidents seeking to serve their own clan all add to why conflict breaks out in areas where valuable resources are found.

Quite informative, eh? Today I got fitted for a custom tailored Kaunda suit. I got to pick out the fabric and the tailor measured me. The Kaunda suit has short sleeves and basically looks really baller. I can't wait to wear it in the states. It was only about 35 dollars.

On a sadder note I was told last night that I have a brother who was taken to the bush by the rebels from school. He was 13 when he was taken. He would be my age now. My family believes he will return though so we are hopeful. Sorry to cut this short, but I am in an internet cafe and running out of time.

Wat Maber!

Advertisement



9th June 2010

What color is the suit, Green? Are the pants long pants or shorts? We can't wait to see it!! Mom
11th June 2010

Hey Bob, glad to hear you're enjoying your time in Africa. To a point, I can understand why the people you've met think all white travelers are weak. I'm sure most travelers stay in hotels where their bags are carried in by someone who works there. However, I'm surprised that Irene was shocked that you were able to pick up the water she was carrying in addition to what you were carrying. Is it more that they see us as lazy rather than weak? While I'm sure some travelers look small and weak, you certainly do not, and I can't imagine that all the people who have called you a Muzungu assume you're weak. And hey, what's with calling out the engineers? I know what an NGO is! I look forward to reading the rest of your posts.
13th June 2010

Hi Bob
Hi Bob, This is really nice, being able to follow your trip through your blog. Mary Ellen, Nana and I went to Meggie's graduation party yesterday in Montrose. Our cousins Esther and Michael were also there. Andy took Michael and me for a ride in his fire truck. He gave us a personalized tour of Montrose. It was a lot of fun. Nana wouldn't go for a ride :-). It was her birthday and she didn't want anyone to know.... it was funny because I kept telling her to embrace her age, I am 52 and proud of it. We missed you and are really glad you are enjoying your trip. You will hold these memories for a lifetime. Take care and come home soon. Love, Kathryn
18th June 2010

B.A.
The pictures of Kaunda suits I found online are pretty bad ass. They seem very retro 80's, very Vice City from what I have seen. I like.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb