"Hey Muzungo! Where you going?"


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Mukono
March 18th 2007
Published: March 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Film Crew.The Film Crew.The Film Crew.

Juliette, Christine, Nantale and Emma "Nakabku" Mullen
Jebale Ko!

Another week has passed and it leaves me resting alone in my house for a quiet night of reflection and seclusion. New emotions, ideas and people have all stopped by for tea in Mukono this week.

Since this is Africa and nothing goes to plan, I did not go to a village this week. Instead, I spent the week visiting the local hospitals and the prison, rolling beads, making bracelets and teaching my first editing lesson. It was a week to develop some strong relationships with my Ugandan friends and to get to know my roommates a little better. I was given a clan name. I am Emma "Nakabko," a member of the white monkey clan....ahahha. As the week comes to a close, I am relieved to find myself alone in our compound while the rest of the volunteer crew has gone to plant trees at an orphanage. This brief period of seclusion is much appreciated since I like to give myself space to reflect on the events of these last seven days.

Every morning, the prisoners pass by our compound with jerry cans on their heads, on their way to gather water for themselves. An
Beading Up a StormBeading Up a StormBeading Up a Storm

My buddy Merriam.
armed guard casually follows them and I watch from the porch curiously, wondering what goes on in that facility. I got a taste of it when we went to make an appointment for a visit. We sat and talked with the man who is second in charge. He is a young, jovial fellow with what seemed like legitimate intentions. After hearing such awful stories of the brutality that goes on there, my fellow counselors and I were surprised. He explained that the prison was supposed to be funded by the government, but they never receive anything, so they have the prisoners work to make money for food and general supplies. Having been warned that the guards were forcing the inmates to work and then taking the money for themselves, we questioned further. I am a pretty good judge of character and this man convinced me that his actions were of high moral standards and that although these were criminals they were human beings and he would treat them as he would any other person. Then, they brought the baby of a female inmate to my lap. This beautiful baby boy spent his days amongst prison walls because they didn't think
Mukono TownMukono TownMukono Town

afternoon streets
it was right to take him away from his mother since he was newly born. I was left with a good question of my own morals; Leave the baby with his mother who he needs, or take him out of that environment and have someone not as capable raise him? I still don't know what I would choose. We made an appointment to come back later in the week and visit with the prisoners and bring them soap and sanitary napkins. We didn't end up going back.

African pace is relaxing. When walking somewhere with Ugandans, its a good idea to give yourself 45 minutes to walk somewhere that it would take a New Yorker 20 minutes to get to. I enjoy it. It’s damn hot here and I am in no rush to get anywhere. This pace fits right into the culture of the cohesive society within Uganda. If you're going to say "Hi" to someone, you better have the time to say "Hello, how are you? How is your family? How is blah de blah de blah?" or else your just rude. Coming from American culture where we are constantly rushing around to our next task and
a bit of funa bit of funa bit of fun

a preview of pink paper bag man.
only ask "how are you" with the answer of "good" ready to pour out of our lips even if its not the case, I am learning to ask with the intention of really listening. Its doing me a lot of good to stop rushing around so much and amble slowly along to my next destination.

As I mentioned, I gave my first digital video editing lesson. We got the technical stuff together and now I am free to teach them whatever I please. The Chairman is delighted that I came along at this time. Currently, we are trying to develop projects that will make the organization self sustainable. Right now, MACRO is totally reliant on donations so they are super stretched for cash. This editing studio is going to bring money to pay rent, buy food and supplies so that we can continue with the original intentions of this NGO. It’s the building blocks that should have been put in place when MACRO was first founded. No matter, we are learning from past mistakes. I'm proud to help make this actually work. I decided I would put together a formal request for support as well as teach editing and being a counselor. I have a lot on my plate right now, but it feels good.

Another successful step was made for me when I sat with a group of HIV positive people and talked to them about ways to stay healthy and happy. Last time we did this, I sat on the sidelines feeling stupid because I don't know enough about the disease to say anything of importance. Looking around the room this time, I saw in their eyes how much influence my muzungu skin has upon them. It’s rather un-nerving and could be totally taken advantage of. They are taught in school that our ideas are better then theirs. What????? I realized that my place was to let them know that I was here to support them. That there was someone from a completely different part of the world that was willing to sit with them and hear whatever they had to say. I also told them that I believed that the most important tool in life was education and that by sharing what they were going through, they would help make a difference for the future. After my friend Justine translated my words, the eyes staring back at me turned to those of a fellow human. Not a Ugandan or an American, not rich or poor, not female to male, but person to person. This was confirmed by the smiles and nods of approval that spread around the room. Afterwards, I felt like I had found my place. I helped hand out soap and sent all my love to these people as they held my hand before we left.

If all goes to plan this coming week, I am going to a village. I think it will be me and the two male counselors. They are really sweet boys, even if they do constantly remind me that I should find a Ugandan boyfriend (Yeah, just what I want, men who are notorious for being polygamous...no thanks!) I am definitely going to bring my video camera along and try to shoot something. I am still lost when it comes to a creative way to shoot what I see without having hours of boring footage. Actually, I spent the morning filming for another volunteer who is leaving tomorrow. He has this funny little silent story about a guy in a pink robe with a bag on his head who he films doing random stuff all over the world. I was pleased to be his cinematographer for this episode of "pink paper bag man." It made me realize I don't have to be so serious with my camera. I can do something fun like that too. Plus there are so many awesome spots to film here. We will see.

This coming weekend, a group of us are planning to go to the Northern Region which is controlled by the Lords Resistance Army. If you don't know what that is...do some research. Over 70,000 Ugandan children have been abducted and forced into the brutal army. They are tortured, raped and forced to endure inhumane conditions. A ridiculous amount of people have been murdered. Its an awful situation that no one really knows about becuase its not in our governments best interest to get involved. So as the rest of the world is oblivious to this attrocity, these people continue to suffer. Watch the movie "Invisible Children." Its a great documentary made by people around my age who are really taking action up there. I know that this doesn't sound like the safest place for me to go, but the LRA seems to realize that if they hurt a white girl, the world will get involved and they will be overthrown. I am confident that this will be a good experience for me.

I hate the food here. I am eating bland, white or fried food. I am craving green vegetables and flavor like no other. My stomach hurts all the time from the starch sticking to my stomach. That is my only complaint and I really needed to get it out. Thanks for listening.


O.K. This is getting way to long. I could go on forever, but I will spare you. My sunburns are slowly turning into a tan, or that could just be the layer of dirt that is always coating me. I hope the billion feet of snow in Vermont or wherever you are is treating you kindly. Eat some good food for me and know that you are all in my thoughts.

Wabale nyo!
Love,
Emma


Advertisement



27th March 2007

techno phobe
I have tried sending you a comment and e-mails. I am psyched for and proud of you, Emma Mullen. RSVP when you can. I can't bear to write any more without knowing if it is being cyber-swallowed or sent. Take care - Ron
17th June 2007

homesick!
Reading your blog has made me 'homesick' - I only spent a fortnight in Mukono, and Salama, and the pictures and your comments just sum it all up. You must be somewhere near Administration Road? Would love to go back and visit again - and really miss the pace of life out there! Hope you fully enjoy the rest of your trip (and your tan - 3 red mud baths later I was completely white again!)
7th June 2010
a bit of fun

i like uganda
it is where my mum comes from ,she lives in nkokonjeru.hey! uganda has got everythn sweet mh.... matoke ne ebinyebwa/ enkoko.biwoma.nnabikolo lilian baraza (mrs) is my mum.ilove her much n im proud to hav ugandan blood in me.God bless uganda!
7th June 2010
a bit of fun

i like uganda
it is where my mum comes from ,she lives in nkokonjeru.hey! uganda has got everythn sweet mh.... matoke ne ebinyebwa/ enkoko.biwoma.nnabikolo lilian baraza (mrs) is my mum.ilove her much n im proud to hav ugandan blood in me.God bless uganda!
7th June 2010
Mukono Town

i love uganda/mukono town
people r very cool and decent,good food n friendly environment.
10th March 2011
Beading Up a Storm

nice pic
details about u

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb