Kigo Girls Unite


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Entebbe
March 8th 2023
Published: March 11th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Kigo Girls (our nickname for our group chat as it was the street we lived on the first time I was in Uganda) have united and and it feels so good.

I have spoken with Hope and Irene almost every day since returning from Uganda last March. So when I could return a year later almost to the day it was cause for celebration.

I arrived on a Saturday so it gave us the weekend to catch up before work started on Monday. The girls had never had Champagne before so I bought some in Duty Free for use to celebrate our reunion.

While I was gone Irene started construction on her new home. Currently she lives in a house behind where her new house will be. Her first task was to build a guest house for Hope to rent. Hope moved in just a few days before I arrived. I was impressed with what Irene has done with the space. It has two bedrooms, bathroom (with hot water if there is power), kitchen and enough space for a living room and dining room. It is light, bright and airy. Hope and I stay in this home and Irene stays in her home just behind. Her property is located just about 10 mins from where Hope used to live.

We spent our first weekend together revisiting my favorite spots such as Little Jamaica. Sky Man the chef remembered me and got the fish 'a frying. We had a few cold beers (warm ones for Irene), fish, and then a boat ride. Once the owner of the bar learned I am 'captain' he insisted I take everyone for a boat ride on Lake Victoria under the full moon. Other than the motor failing a few times it was a lovely evening on the water.

We had our first Monday morning meeting to strategize for my time here. We will visit as many of my current loan recipients as we are able to. We are also going to work on a mentorship program so we can help the women continue to grow and improve their businesses.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb