A Day Trip To Bongoyo Island


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
December 9th 2012
Published: December 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

How The Other Half LivesHow The Other Half LivesHow The Other Half Lives

These homes are where diplomats and ex-pats live... Who says Development Work doesn't pay?
Last weekend, to mark the first of December, another volunteer and I took off to Bongoyo Island for the day. The day was sunny and the temperatures were climbing. We decided the best place to be was the beach.

We opted for Bongoyo Island for a couple of reasons... neither one of us had been there before and it was relatively easy to get to...

Wikipedia describes Bongoyo Island as "an uninhabited island, 2.5km north of Dar es Salaam. It is the most frequently visited of the four islands of the Dar es Salaam Marine Reserve."

The island lies close to the Peninsula (where I live) and is reachable by a 30 minute boat ride from the mainland.... They say 30 minutes, but it is more like 60... But you are on the water, so who really minds the error in time?

We caught the boat at Slipway, a touristy shopping/restaurant attraction, which is about 15 minutes from my house. Once aboard, we sat back and took in the sights.

On the way to the island, we had to pass the Yacht Club as well as homes where dignitaries live... nothing like my house.

Once at the island, there is basically nothing to do but snorkel, swim, lay in the sun and eat & drink. There are several bandas for you to lay under.. You have to pay for everything once you arrive... the lounge chairs, the bandas, anything you may need while there... The bandas and loungers cost us 8 thousand shillings ($5 CAD) for the day. Not a big deal.

The beaches were white sand and the shells were plentiful.

There's not really much to tell you here... I just wanted to share my pictures with you. As you are decorating your trees, hanging the lights, shopping for gifts and trying to stay ahead of the holiday crunch, I am on a beach.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

The Dar es Salaam Yacht ClubThe Dar es Salaam Yacht Club
The Dar es Salaam Yacht Club

Yup, they got one here... It's not very big, but there are some nice boats there.
Local FishermenLocal Fishermen
Local Fishermen

When I looked to my right, I saw the yacht club. When I looked to my left, I saw these two guys trying to catch enough fish for their families to eat.
Who Needs A Yacht?Who Needs A Yacht?
Who Needs A Yacht?

This guy has a surf board that he straddles. He rows himself out to the waters to fish. He balances a bucket on the board to hold his catch.
Approaching Bongoyo IslandApproaching Bongoyo Island
Approaching Bongoyo Island

The sand really is that white!
A Shadow Of My Former SelfA Shadow Of My Former Self
A Shadow Of My Former Self

You know, you can suck in your gut until you can't breathe and there are still love handles... God, I love being 50.


9th December 2012

White Sand . . .
. . . looks mighty fine as the icy rain/hail starts in the North End of Hamilton on Sunday afternoon.
9th December 2012
How The Other Half Lives

The other HALF?
I'd say its less than that. ;)
11th December 2012

I wish I was there.The shopping frenzy here is obscene.Seems we have not learned a thing after towers collapsing,Republican thievery,and hurricanes. xx Jack
11th December 2012
A Shadow Of My Former Self

Don't be so hard on yourself...
50 looks great - that is one sexy shadow! :-)

Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0889s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb