More Flowers From Tanzania


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
January 6th 2013
Published: January 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The rains have started to make their way to the east coast of Africa, so I figured I would share some pictures of pretty things with you instead of the shots of the mud-filled streets (I will send those as the rainy season gets further along).

The cyclone season has started in Madagascar. They will be pummelled with rain for the next couple of months... I got out of there just in time. The rains are wreaking havoc for some volunteers in the Mtwara region in southern Tanzania. I saw a picture the other day of a volunteer standing in 18 inches of water.

Today, the clouds are grey and hang low over Dar es Salaam. My biggest problem is wondering if my laundry will dry on the line. I am lucky.

While the weather continues to marvel us, frustrate us, and replenish us, enjoy the flowers that I get to see on a regular basis here, in Tanzania.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

An Orchid In KaratuAn Orchid In Karatu
An Orchid In Karatu

At least I think it is in the orchid family.
Not A ClueNot A Clue
Not A Clue

It is some sort of pod that had fallen from a tree... Other than that, I am at a loss.
A Lone Petunia-Like Flower In The Rice Fields Of MorogoroA Lone Petunia-Like Flower In The Rice Fields Of Morogoro
A Lone Petunia-Like Flower In The Rice Fields Of Morogoro

I first thought it was a petunia, but it is the flower of the rice plant. I saw a field of these in Madagascar.
A Dudu In The FlowerA Dudu In The Flower
A Dudu In The Flower

Dudu is kiswahili for bug


9th January 2013

Thank you....
...for showing us the beauty that Tanzania has to offer, and more importantly, for not putting up picture of creepy, crawly reptiles and bugs!

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0922s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb