Recent Home Invasion In Dar... I AM SAFE & SOUND


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
September 18th 2012
Published: September 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This entry is much more serious than the ones I usually send. There are no pictures, but I think it is important to share the good AND the bad...

This is an email I received a couple of weeks ago...



Dear Colleagues,

You may have heard of the unfortunate killing last weekend of a Swiss national. An investigation is ongoing by the Police and all information is not fully known. This is a preliminary report. There a number of different rumours being spread on exactly what took place last Friday during a home invasion on Mwaya Street. Most sources agree on the following:

Two vehicles (one a mini-van) with 6-10 smartly dressed males (Tanzanian) entered a compound on Mwaya Street that contains 3 houses. They talked their way passed the guard. It may be possible that they showed him fake police credentials. (police will not confirm this) They went to the house of the Swiss national and engaged in a conversation and then attacked the individual. He was beaten and died later on the way to the hospital (possible crushed windpipe) due to suffocation. They then looted the residence. They then proceeded to the neighbor who answered his door and then opened it. He was attacked but fell to the floor pretending to be unconscious. They then looted his residence.

It is our understanding that the guards had no idea what was taking place in the residences.

_____________________________________________________________



I want to assure you that I am fine and am on high alert these days. My security guards are keeping the gate locked at my place and open it only to people they know or people we are expecting. My doors are locked at all times and my valuables are locked away when I am not at home. When we are out after dark, we travel in groups.

I also live on a busy street and frequent the shops in front of my place, so the locals keep and eye on us.

The very sad truth is that these incidents happen here. They may not happen often, but they do happen.

Some volunteers have been mugged and robbed, but in all cases, it has been women who have been targeted.

If they think there is something in the house that they want, they are going to try to get it. It truly is a "survival of the fittest" attitude here... And again, this is the exception to the rule... The majority of the people are wonderful, kind, and helpful. Those people we don't talk about. We tend to only hear about the actions of a small few.

It is very sad what happened to these two men, while they were here trying to make some sort of a difference in the lives of the people here.

Once again, I am safe and sound.






Advertisement



18th September 2012

WOW!
This blog is absolutely incredible! I hope you don't mind, but I am following you on you journeys. I know, it sort of makes me sound like a stalker! Anyway, I'm glad to know you are safe and I'm looking forward to more blogs from you! Nanci
19th September 2012

Wow, that's scary. I remember when I lived in Zambia, my parents cordoned off the bedroom area of the house with jail bars so when (not if) burglars broke in, they could just steal the valuable items in the living area, but not have access to the sleeping area. Good you're staying cautious Bobby! Missing you back home!

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0948s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb