June 10


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
June 10th 2010
Published: June 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

6-10
Same story, different day about breakfast.
Dana and I were to work the clinic. We started right at 9. Steady flow of patients and around 10 I saw that we had a big stack in our box. Our nurses doing triage said we were the only ones there. Dr. Vicki is gone for a month and the other two hadn’t shown up yet. I asked them to send for Malcolm for help. By the time he showered and came down, Dr. God had shown up and took some patients.
Paula stopped in to get me so I could get money from the ATM and then to the bank to transfer it to Vesna for the Zanzibar trip. I told Dana I would be right back. Little did I know….
The med students were all in the vehicle. We were to drop them at Sacrou Tourie Hospital to watch a Dr. do eye surgeries on kids. Paula walked us in and then after dropping them off, showed me around a bit.
We then went to the ATM and bank. Had to wait in line quite awhile with everyone with stacks of cash. I had to deposit 1,032,000 TSH to make about $700. Then she needed to stop at the pharmacy to pay their bill so she wanted to show me around. Thought we were done when Sully called saying he needed caulk and it couldn’t wait. Ran to the hardware store for that. Then the eye surgeon called her wanting some drops from the pharmacy. She called the pharmacist who said it would take him 20 min. to get it ready. We stalled by going to the post office. Then back to the pharmacy to get the drops. By then the med students had text that they were ready to be picked up so we drove back to the hospital. Only two came out. The other two were still in a surgery. We had to then go to the U-turn grocery store. The prices were high so I just got a coke. I was starving because it was now about 1:30. A box of Frosted Flakes was 19,000TSH so about $7.50. Drove back around for the other two students and FINALLY back to the clinic. By then of course all patients were done except two waiting for me for pelvics and lunch was done.
Went to dinner as usual. Bed at around 10 after packing.
Several people went to the orphanage each day.
Had confirmations from Vesna and Abbi had decided to go with me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb