Hey Sista, Jambo! Look in my shop...


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
April 17th 2010
Published: April 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Looking is FreeLooking is FreeLooking is Free

the favoured slogan of the curio stall vendor
Heelloo, how are you? Jambo, you want to look in my shop? Looking is free my friend. Pole pole, take your time sister. Look necklaces, look earrings, look simba...you like my friend? I give you good price, best price, student price. You volunteer, I give you volunteer price? Good price for you. Where you from? Ahh Eeeenglaand, very nice, Karibu. London? No! Where from? You are very welcome. Look look, slowly, no rush, akuna mata. Look elephant, look Tingatinga painting, look here hippo, here flamingo, this one crocodile, you like? Just buy small thing, maybe t-tshirt for your brother? Take two! I give you good price for two. Just one then, I need to feed my family, sad eyes. What's your name? My name is Mr Cheap! Jambo, how are you? Just looking, looking is free. Take time. I have wood carvings, you like? Now look in my shop miss, now mine. Look, Barack Obama kanga, Michael Jackson kanga! Sister you missed my shop, you look here now! You like this one? Or this one? You prefer Masai head, Maisai spear, Masai hut, Masai cloth, Masai beads, Masai painting, Masai painting with hut, Masai painting with animals, you prefer just animal
souvenier stallsouvenier stallsouvenier stall

you want masai blanket, painting, statue, mobile?
painting? Look look, I have many paintings, just look, looking is free my friend. You like this one? Or this one? Ahh this one very nice, but maybe you like bigger painting? Maybe take two? Or three? Good price, special price, what is your best price? You come up a bit. No you come down, I have already come up. Your best price my friend. Because you remind me of my daughters I give you big discount! Just 1000 shillings more, please my friend, just 1000. More sad eyes. Oh go on then. Happy happy, big smile, shake hands. Very good choice my friend. Wrap in newspaper, black plastic bag. Akuna mata, it is safe now, put in bag no worries it will be safe my friend I promise. Now come look in my shop lady, I have nice things for you! Maybe wood carving, you like? Later, I come back later. You promise? I wait for you, later Sister!

Fun and games browsing and buying at the Masai Market, Arusha

Advertisement



24th April 2010

Your Tanzania post made me laugh! Sounds like an interesting place with many shopping options! My blog is looking for travel photos, etc, to share. If you have the time check it out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com, or email me at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com. Continued fun on your travels! Heather :)

Tot: 0.406s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 23; qc: 104; dbt: 0.1927s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb