Another World


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
February 28th 2008
Published: February 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have been back teaching now for 6 weeks and everything seems pretty much normal. It was a slow start to the year as they organised subject teachers and teaching loads and then the timetable (no, apparently none of this could be done before we all arrived!). I am teaching English grammar to Form 4 and Form 3 (8 classes between the 2 forms, so that should keep me busy). I am also now Head of the Computer Department - what a joke! Still, with the equipment we’ve got (or rather, haven’t got) it shouldn’t be too onerous! However, I am ever hopeful! Apparently we have been given some more computers so now have 6 for the whole school - don’t know if I will be able to keep up!!
We have had a little bit of rain lately - apparently it’s the long rains come early, but no-one really seems to know for sure as the weather patterns are all screwed up. However, I have managed to have a shower everyday this week so it can’t be all bad! In saying that, there are still often long queues at the public tap as many people don’t have running water in
Some of my kids working hardSome of my kids working hardSome of my kids working hard

It took a while for them to get into the idea of groupwork, but now they are humming!
their homes. I had a couple of Maasai (mother and daughter) come to the gate the other day and ask for water to wash their hands. I brought them out a jug, bowl, towel and bar of soap and the next thing they were having a full wash in my garden! Also, most days I have groups of kids coming to the gate asking for just a drink of water. It is heartbreaking - things are obviously still pretty desperate out there.
I have included a few photos of my school and kids this time - just so you can all picture what it is like here. It truly is another world! As you can see, getting enough water is a constant struggle at school as well! The students are responsible for collecting water, keeping the grounds clean etc. They are also often required to write the teacher’s notes on the board for the others to copy so that the teacher only has to come to class long enough to hand over the book!!!
I haven’t been doing much trekking now that I am back at school (sometimes the walk to school is worrying enough!) However, we are looking into
Kids arriving at schoolKids arriving at schoolKids arriving at school

Note how hey have no bags - mostly because they don't own them and they have nothing to put in them!
options for where to go during the mid-term break at Easter so I am hoping we will find something exciting to do.
Well, I had better get back to writing my mid-term tests (we were told about these on Monday and they are due tomorrow!)
I hope you are all keeping well and happy.
Take care,
jo
Things I miss at the moment:
My washing machine
Blending in
24 hour Supermarkets
Sport (OK, so I really didn’t do a lot, but it was nice to know the option was there!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Kids doing the cleaningKids doing the cleaning
Kids doing the cleaning

Can you imagine this happening in NZ?
Collecting waterCollecting water
Collecting water

Getting enough water is a constant struggle for all
The school libraryThe school library
The school library

I think the photo says it all!


5th March 2008

Great post Jo
Hey Jo, great post and photos, really puts things in perspective. Cant wait to get over there and see it.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb