close encounter!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
March 5th 2008
Published: March 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

5 March 2008
Well, it has finally happened - I have now had my first encounter with a snake! (I don't really think the snake park counts as an encounter). This one was curled up in my doorway when I went to leave for school on Monday morning, blocking my way out! I guess it would have been a good excuse for a day off school, although then I would have been stuck at home with the snake!! I think it was a black mamba (very dangerous!), although it was quite small and, to be honest, it's not like I got real close! I managed not to freak out completely and become a blithering mess in the corner, but it was a pretty close-run thing! I eventually grabbed my broom and swept it out of the way, but it didn't seem too pleased as it hissed, spat and slithered its way into the garden (and created a marvellous excuse for me to not do any gardening - not that it's really a regular activity for me!) Anyway, I am hoping that it doesn't decide to visit again, but am being very careful to watch where I step, just in case!
I have been spending the last couple of days typing up mid-term exams, so that has kept me out of trouble - especially when I had to use the headmistress' office! We also now have 6 computers for 610 kids and 30 staff, so things are looking up!
Still working on a plan for Easter - but it looks like the chimps won’t happen. Apparently they close up for the rainy season - what wimps!! Not that it seems like it will be much of a problem here, the long rains have still not begun and once again people are getting very desperate, especially considering we missed the short rains also. Those who have already planted their maize are worst off as it looks like most of it will die. Others have not yet planted their crops and so are praying for the rain to come so they can eat! We have been warned that we will have no more water until it rains - not sure if they really mean none or just minimal (sometimes I get a bit confused when trying to translate), but either way it sounds pretty serious! Any rain dances you can find time to do would be appreciated! Of course, we have had beautiful, sunny weather though!!!
As a bit of light relief - the Headmistress presented a prize the other day to the form group who won the intra-school football competition last year. The prize was a good-sized, live goat!!! (Didn’t want to know anything about what they did with it, so I skipped the party they had in celebration!!!)
I think that is about all the news for now. I hope you are all still doing well at the bottom of the Earth!
Take care,
jo
Things I miss at the moment:
Hot and cold running water (actually, just running water!)
Sleeping in! (if it’s not the roosters it’s the water pump, or the tractor etc!)
Fixed prices (am SO over haggling!)
Rubbish collection & recycling


Advertisement



21st March 2008

Well done on the snake thing Jo, very proud of you!! The bottom of the earth is doing fine thanks, cooling down a bit. Can't say i really want to know what they did with the goat either!! :)

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb