Second Cave camp, elevation 3450 meters.


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
February 8th 2016
Published: October 1st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -3.3346, 37.3473

I had the worst nights sleep ever last night........because I didn't sleep. I came down with something and felt really sick all night. I spent about 8 hours tossing and turning wondering how much a hotel room would cost if I had to go back early. In the morning I got some meds off our exped leader and after breakfast it was a slow 4 hour hike to our next camp, luckily for me we were traversing around the mountain mostly on this trek so height gain and gradient were not too sharp. The word of the day for my condition was 'delicate' as I felt very sick, our exped leader kept asking how I was feeling throughout the hike and reminded me to go slowly.

The trek went well we had set off early to try and avoid the impending rain but alas it caught up with us about 30 minutes from camp. The terrain was a lot flatter today as we circumvented the mountain, no trees now just lush green grasses and bushes.

Due to feeling ill I got my head straight down and managed to enjoy some sleep which so far had been in very short supply
On route to second cave camp.On route to second cave camp.On route to second cave camp.

Lush trees and jungle like surroundings had given way to grassland and low bushes as we ascended higher.
since we left the hotel.

The rain continued most of the afternoon on and off so we stayed in our tents and relaxed. A great view of the Kilimanjaro summit presented itself through the clouds late afternoon which was great to see.

As I write this I would still class myself as delicate however I'm hoping I'm over the worst.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Gophers in the mist.Gophers in the mist.
Gophers in the mist.

The wildlife had been getting uglier and uglier as we ascended!!
One of the caves on route to camp.One of the caves on route to camp.
One of the caves on route to camp.

Porters used to stay in these caves but park wardens ensure this is no longer allowed. Everyone must now stay at Second Cave Camp.
A great view!A great view!
A great view!

Me near Second Cave Camp with Kilimanjaro in the background.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb