Simba Camp


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
February 7th 2016
Published: October 1st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -3.3346, 37.3473

Day 2 Sunday 7th Feb 2016.

The day started well at Simba camp, I didn't sleep too well and lay awake for quite sometime drifting in and out of sleep. As I emerged from the tent I was treated to the most amazing view of the summit of Kilimanjaro in the distance way above me. The sun was shining right on it like a sign saying 'here I am I dare you to come and get me'

Breakfast was served outside and was amazingly pleasant in the cool morning sun, the camp was busy with the hustle and bustle of other guiding groups getting ready to leave.

We had 3 hours of trek ahead of us to the next camp which was second cave, then a relaxed afternoon with an altitude training climb before tea.

The trek was quite steep in places and the lush vegetation of the lower terrain was slowly diminishing as we ascended. The pace was lovely and slow which is what climbing this mountain is all about. Just as we arrived at camp the heavens opened so we all dived for our tents that the porters had set up and laid low as rain turned
Me with Kilimanjaro in the background.Me with Kilimanjaro in the background.Me with Kilimanjaro in the background.

The morning sun was quite strong, my white charity T-shirt was still white, this didn't last long at all!
to frantic hail stones. It was hard to imagine that only two hours previous it had been very hot. Towards the latter stage of our trek the temperature has dropped quite significantly.

I struggled on the altitude training climb and really felt the affects of it, later in the evening I started to feel quite sick and queasy so an early night was in order and the hope I would wake feeling a lot better.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb