Been to Paradise!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar
April 9th 2008
Published: April 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post


We're in Zanzibar and have spent the last couple of days enjoying the sunshine and turquoise blue Indian Ocean which has been bliss.
I was slightly worried that our paradisal end to our trip wasn't going to be quite so heavenly when it started to pour down the day we arrived but luckily the weather got better and we managed to do some swimming, snorkelling and lots of walks on the long stretches of golden beach.
The sea here is absolutely beautiful, from crystal clear waters to bursting with powder blue to smooth waves of aqua green. As soon as the sun hits in the early morning you just want to jump in.
We took our exploration to the sea the other day and enjoyed a bout of snorkelling. Underneath the sea's calm surface lay a world of its own - before my eyes were coral, sea urchins, schools of angel fish and our very own nemos.
Whilst I was peacefully floating around mesmerised by the sights before me I saw something flitter at the corner of my eyes. When I turned around to see what this suspicious object that was floating next to my hair was, I noticed the large transluscent jellyfish. Fearing for my life (and my hair) I desperately swam off, looking somewhat un-elegant with my oversized flippers splashing behind me.
We've stopped camping and have enjoyed a few blissful days sleeping in beds, waking up at anytime (although normally it's still 6:30am) and going out for dinner!
We're coming home tomorrow but hopefully we'll come back someday.
I think it will only be when we flick through our 2000 photos that we will truly appreciate what an amazing adventure this has been.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb