First Morning


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Usa River
June 3rd 2011
Published: June 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Friday 25th, 2011 @ 6.30am - Usa River
It's 6.30am and Ive been awake for hours. I fell asleep around 1am and woke up at 2.30am thinking it was time for breakfast. I was quite disappointed when I saw the time, knowing that I have to try and fall asleep again. There is a constant chirp in the air, a nice mixture of bugs and birds and local conversations. I fell back a sleep for a bit and woke up every 30 minutes until about 4.30, which I've just laid here since. Around 5.30 I heard chickens start their morning call, about the same time as I heard somebody up and about in the house.. probably the lady that helps out around the house. She prepares three meals a day, and its all on a schedule. Breakfast is at 8am, Lunch is at 2pm, and Dinner is at 8.30ish. Dinner last night was amazing, so I'm excited to see what is in store for breakfast and try other foods. I've always been so picky with food that being in a place without option of other food -- I'm forced to try new things and discover foods that I would have never given a chance to.
Somewhere outside, down the street I'm guessing,.. there is a man speaking in swahili on what seems to be a loud speaker, but it must be a recording. It sounds like he is preaching, and its been going on for the past 10 minutes ish. Interesting. This mosquito net is chlostraphobic. I think that I will be writing a lot this trip, especially late at night and early in the morning when sleeping is out of the question and I lay here alone and full of thought.
It rained nearly all night, but has stopped within the past hour. It's still rainy season here right now, but supposed to be ending in the near future. This place is very tropical, full of lush green trees and bush everywhere. The air is super moist, it wasnt too hot last night, though I would really appreciate a fan about now. The nearest beach is about a 10 hour drive, but I am only about 20 minutes from so many great places that i am real keen to see. Arusha National Park is just down the road, and I'm literally so close to the famous Serengeti, Mongoro Crater (or however its spelt), and Mt. Kilimanjaro. I would LOVE to climb Kili, but its quite expensive. One of the guys that's volunteering here is climbing Kili next week--6 days, $1000. But that includes all the gear, a recommended guide, and an experience that nobody could ever forget. I can't wait to go on a safari, see things that one can only dream about.
It's 6.45 and the guy on the speaker is still at it, I wonder what its all about. I want to take a shower, but theres no running water so we take bucket showers.. that'll be interesting when it comes to washing my hair. Hm, should have cut it off before I came. The women that I have seen all have their hair braided, the danish guy thats living here has braids too. Seems easier than trying to maintain long hair here. I'm tired but definitely can't sleep... I'm too anxious to get out and see this place!
Hope all is well at home, email me stories or questions or just to chat. More soon.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb