Fourth Day of the Moshi Campaign!!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
June 6th 2008
Published: June 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After you have been here for a while the Africans look at you more as a local than a visitor and because of that I got signed up to cook today. It made me happy that they signed me up to cook and I was more than happy to help them out. So today after all the teams left to go out on the streets, Lindsey Jensen and I stayed behind to help cook and clean. The first thing we had to do was wash all the dishes from the morning chai(tea) and mkati(bread). Then it was time to start cooking the beans and rice for lunch. We were in charge of cutting up the vegetables for the mchicha(greens) that you put on the side of the rice. After the vegetables were cut I went and helped with the rice. Well I kind of helped, I stirred for a little bit and then Mamma Lucy said she would do it. I guess I was stirring them wrong haha. When all the food was prepared we had to scoop out all the food into the bowls, say the prayer and the it was time to eat. The day went by pretty fast because Lindsey and I talked the whole time we were working. I know, its hard to believe that I talked the whole time!! We had a good time and loved that we were able to help.

When everyone was done eating lunch we had about 2 hours before the children’s seminar started. But the kids were already showing up and it wasn’t even time for them yet. The seminar stated at 4pm and it was CRAZY!! Today we had 231 kids and let me tell you, they were not well behaved at all. We had to carry around sticks to try to keep them under control. The African women will gladly beat one of them but we leave that up to them. We just use the sticks to scare them a little bit but it doesn’t work for us nearly as well as it does for the Africans! It is so hard to keep that many African kids contained and controlled but we did the best we could. Refreshment time was pretty difficult today. I had the cookies, Penny and Julie had the kool-aid and the kids wanted it all faster than we could had it out. At one point I was tossing the cookies across the rows at the kids. It kind of turned it to a little game which was fun. After refreshments I went and gathered up all of the plastic cups to go and wash them. Sirus (age 4) was sitting and helping me wash all of the cups, he is so cute! The day was long but very rewarding. It always feel good to kick off your shoes at the end of the day and be proud of what you did!

I hope all is well in American. Please keep me as well as all the visitors and missionaries in you prayers as we strive to do the Lord’s will here in Tanzania, East Africa!

In Christian Love,
Callie



Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



7th June 2008

So I guess you want beans and rice as your first meal home? Can you bring some of that with you? I can just taste it - the best rice and greans I ever had was there. I Love You and can't wait for you to step off that plane!! I am sooooo proud of you!!! MOM

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb