Second day of the Moshi Campaign!!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
June 4th 2008
Published: June 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This morning I got up and I did not feel well at all. I still went to the church building with the group but decided to stay at the building instead of going out on the strees with the rest of my group. Even though I stayed at the church building there was still plenty for me to do. I helped out in the kitchen by cutting and slicing avocados. Then I spent most of the morning with Timothy Massawe folding loads of the tracts that we pass out on the streets. When my group returned from their morning Bible studies they had some bad news. They went to visit the lady I was telling about in my last travel blog who was scared that she might get beat by her family if they found out she was studying the Bible with us. When they got to her house she ran to the back of the and her family came marching out the front door. They were not happy with us at all for coming and talking to her about the Bible. Then they made the lady come up to the fence and give back the Bible I left her the day before. She stood far enough below the fence where no one could see her. There was no way to tell if they had beat or hurt her but we were still extremely sad for her situation. We have a few Bible studies already set up for tomorrow that we will be attending. I hope and pray that they all go well.

I was so excited today when I looked up and saw all the Standard 1 kids from the Nursery School there at the building for the children’s seminar. They are supposed to be coming everyday this week, all the way from Boma Ngombe (30min away)! We had about 100 kids today total at the seminar and it all went really well. The girls from Hattiesburg brought all the decorations and the Bible lessons for the whole week. The theme this week is “Young People in the Bible who did the will of God.” What great lessons for kids. I didn’t teach any of the lessons, I helped all the new girls in their classes because they had never taught before. I was also the cookie and kool-aid lady today! The preaching went on at the same time as the children’s seminar so I only got to hear about the last 5min of George’s lesson today. We do both the children’s classes and the preaching at the same time to help the adults who want to listen to preaching but have kids who distract them. We keep the kids entertained with Bible lessons, crafts, and songs while the parents get to hear the word of God being preached outside. After the preaching was done it was time to head back home. But not before we went to the top of the church building to take pictures of the amazing Mount Kilimanjaro on a perfectly clear day. Seeing the mountain with absolutely no clouds in front is so awesome and it is a sight that no one ever gets tired of seeing. Isn’t our God great!!!


In Christian Love,
Callie



Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb