Bad week


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
October 20th 2009
Published: October 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Okay so as a follow up on my boastful "I'm gonna climb Kili" shit I would like to let everyone know that I admit defeat. I started off well, got to 4000 and, whilst looking at the amazing view, hurt my ankle. It's my own fault really, we were walking on basically just rocks and I should know by now that luck doesn't really cling to me.. so anyway, our guide Richard told me I should go down as my ankle would need rest and a top of a mountain really wasnt the best place for that. Totally bummed me out. So pissed off but oh well.. Guess it was also the thought of all that money I'd paid for it that bummed me out.
Anyhow, so I had to walk down to this hut which was "close" according to Richard but it took LONG 2 hours.. I had my ankle bandaged up and was using my walking pole thingys as crutches.
Got to the hut where they called for an ambulance jeep to come pick me up - waited for about an hour before setting off to the meeting point , took about 30 mins to get there. Then, me and this other dude who I think was a bummed out porter, waited for an hour for the jeep to come. It took another 3 hours to get down and finally hit Arusha at around 8pm.

I have to give credit to all the freaky Tanzanians who climb Kili for a living. They're insane and amazing! The porters carry all your shit for you (often on their heads), walk FAST and get to camp many hours before you to set up tents and prepare food for you. They are so fit it's stupid. Our guide claimed (and I actually don't doubt him) that he could climb Kili, and get back down again, in 1 day. He had actually run up the highest mountain in Africa. Tanzanians are tough as shit (not that shit is actually tough?)

After a few days of rest and hanging out with the cool people who actually did make it to the summit I started my new placement.
It's called Faraja Orphans Home and is run by the weirdo Faraja. My first impression of him was him telling me the story of how he was inspired to start the orphanage = he saw an angel and I think God might have spoken to him. I don't have anything against religious people at all (by all means go ahead I say), but me being an atheist (albeit slightly in disguise here - the concept is not a popular one here) it was not a great start - mainly because I was feeling very sick and didnt really have the patience for the LONG story.
But he's a nice guy, no doubt about it, I just try to stay out of his way cos he keeps on wanting to hug me and tell me how much he's missed me (he does that to everyone.. i think).
I was supposed to start Wednesday but it was postponed until Monday as I was ill for some days.
I love the place and the kids are nice.. I've been busy cleaning, washing dishes, "cooking" (sorting crap from the masses of rice and beans before dumping them in a huge pot of water) and playing with the kids. There are about 20 who live there but 200 who go to school there!
An American company just donated a years use of water purifier which is amazing! The water they use is from the stream and is full of dirt and all kinds of crap so it's great to be able to make the water drinkable. A film crew is apparently coming tomorrow to film the whole process (mixing yellow powder in to dirty water and waiting - exciting stuff!) .. only problem that we met was the stupidity of two of the older kids (12-14 yrs old) who managed to convince all the other kids that the water was "death water" and that they'd die if they drank it. Stupid little brats! Took forever and a lot of demontrating of people drinking the water and not dying, before they'd drink it.

So workwise things are good - good placement, nice people etc etc
Host family wise things aren't so good. My host mum has decided to kick me out, basically.
I was originally supposed to leave the family (who after my host sister left for boarding school 2 days ago consists of just my host mum) the 21st of October - this date was moved 2 weeks to the 3rd of November because I took 2 weeks holiday (Zanzibar and Kili) in the middle of my placement. I told both my host mum and my host sister this a few times. First my host mum wanted 2 weeks more money despite only needing 4 days extra - 1st point where I got pissed off tho not to their faces.
Then yesterday she asks me when on Wednesday (tomorrow) I will be leaving.. I tell her again, this time showing here the calender on my phone to illustrate, what date I will actually be leaving. She did not seem happy at all at the prospect of 2 extra weeks with me.. not that I care, I'm not thrilled about spending 2 extra weeks with her either. I know she doesn't like me as much as the previous volunteer Brielle and I have a feeling this has partly something to do with me not lending her money all the time or paying 40 000 for the washing lady (way too much !!).
Also I don't like her for several reasons (well I like a, I guess, but there are points which piss me off A LOT). Firstly because she is the most lazy person I have ever met. She gets everyone else to do everything for her. One night she got the neighbour boy to go to the corner for a beer and a guinnes (she mixes them - weird I know), put it in front of her, open it, pour it, and clean the beer she spilt on herself off her skirt. No wonder she's huge.
Secondly, she goes through my stuff in my room and uses things like face wipes and makeup. When I got back from Kili she had lent my 2 camera cables to some guy that I've met once and that I haven't got back yet.

So, to the point, yesterday at around 11 pm I'm lying in my bed trying to sleep when I get a text (in crap english) from my host mum, who is in the living room, saying that she doesn't know claire (the "new" desk officer) but only knows Herman (the 2nd employee of Projects Abroad, and in my opinion completely useless at his job) and that he (wrongly) said the 21st so that must mean I have to leave. "I want my room" were her last words.
I was so shocked and got really pissed off - what she cant get off her ass and come tell me in person? I was too pissed off to dare go in and confront her and anyway she wouldnt understand what I was saying anyway. So I wrote Claire, the desk officer, told her the situation, and have agreed to meet up with her in about an hour. I'm still really pissed off but I just want to get out of the house asap.

So yeah.. that's the situation. Hopefully I can be put with a new host family for my last 2 weeks.
But now I need to go fetch my backpack which is (hopefully) at the SOK office (the organisation we went up Kili with) . Hopefully they haven't thought it was theirs (plausible: it's empty, they have a ton and they swear by "hakuna matata" which they seem to think makes it alright for them to do whatever they want)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb