dirty!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
September 4th 2009
Published: September 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So we're into September now - apparently the rainy season is supposed to start around the end of september/beginning of obtober - great. Just what I came here for, rain. The upside of it will be that it wont be so dusty here - I've gotten used to being dirty all the time .. the minute you step outside you're covered with dust and especially after spending 5 hours at Shalom with the kids.
I'm used to the kids now and they're used to me (I think), they're really sweet and funny.
Brielle left for Canada wednesday but luckily two more volunteers have arrived who work at Shalom as well - two guys from France, aged 20, called Antoine and Alex. They're really nice and the kids love them. I'm just thankful I have company for when there's nothing to do and that they can play football with the guys so I don't have to.

I really want to paint one of the walls in the "dining room", hopefully with a world map so they can figure out where all us volunteers that come are from. I considered just getting them a paper one to hang up but after 2 weeks with them, I know they will break it. They suck at having material stuff . they break everything they get basically. It's really frustrating as I would like to give them some useful things but it seems like a waste of money.
I did buy one of the older guys, who's about 18 or so, two swahili-english dictionaries as he really needed them for school.
Yesterday we went up to the football ground to play football and it was so dusty it was amazing. Everytime the football hit the ground a cloud of dust would swirl up - i've never been so dirty in my life! even after a week at Roskilde ! (tho maybe not roskilde 07)

Today I realised that my host mum had taken not only the clothes in my dirty washing bag but also all the clothes that were on my bed, that weren't actually dirty, and washed them. That would've been fine if it hadn't rained during the night and all the clothes on the line hadn't been soaked .. I had to do some improvising this morning with the clothes that were left in my cupboard.

Now that new volunteers are arriving I can finally start finding people to go travelling with and do stuff in the weekends with.
The two french guys and myself might be going to a Masai village tomorrow and we're gonna try arrange to go on a safari next weekend.
THey're only here for a month so they need to get things done soonish and I really want to go on a safari soon so it's perfect timing. It's not too expensive for a 3 day safari and there's a safari company called SOK which is run by a Projects Abroad host dad, who has given discount before and might do it again. Hopefully.

Oh and yesterday I bought Weetabix and put-in-the-fridge milk! brilliant! I hate the warm milk here that is all oily and makes a crust on my tea or coffee if I leave it for too long.
I think after these two months I wont ever want to eat beef sausages (or any kind of sausage for that matter) or eggs (in all its forms) every again. My host mum makes it every morning and i'm already tired of it. But i'm not complaining, i'm grateful that she bothers.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb