Lake Duluti and some thoughts


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
July 12th 2008
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Since it's a Sat, I planned on sleep in this morning, got up at about 8:45am which is fairly late compare to the weekdays, we're going to a quick hike at lake Duluti today, set off at around 11am, took the daladala to the trailhead, paid around $10 for entrance fee and a ranger with us. it is a very easy hike around the lake, on a sunny day, we should be able to see Mt. Kili and Mt. Meru around, but unfortunately it's quite cloudy today so we weren't able to see anything, lake Duluti is ok, nothing spectacular, I guess it'll be better if it's sunny, what I liked about here is it so quiet since we're almost the only group on the trail, compare to all the other hikes I've been onto, it's very rare that you're the only one on the trail, makes you feel like you're part of the nature, felt the same while I was on redwood county in California, the quietness makes you just wish the time could stop right there, but it didn't last very long since the other group show up, they're so happy, singing and shouting, making horrible noises, changes the whole perspective makes me feel disgusting and also wondering what are people here really for,

when I was back in Canada, I heard people say it's a life time experience of traveling to Africa all the time, never really understand it, now i'm here in Africa, still don't have a clue, compare to any other western countries, Tanzania is very poor, so everything you experience here you probably would never get a chance to experience back home, everything is new, exciting, challenging, I can see Africa is a unique place because of it's own culture, people, nature and economic situation, Im not sure all the foreigners here are here for a good cause or not, as far as I can tell, there're people here for an exotic experience, stuffs here are so cheap and unique, makes you feel like you can afford way more than you can back home, habitat is so unique, people can easily get thrilling pictures just by point and shoot. but are we really here for good or just for our own benefits? What kind of help do locals really need? it confuse me a lot...

I went to an electronics store the other day, amazingly to see how many fancy stuffs they carry there, pretty much everything you can find in futureshop or bestbuy you can find there, I found my blackberry was selling there for TSH863,000($750), which I paid about $400 back home, which is ridiculously expensive giving the average living conditions here, but I'm sure there're people here can afford it, I also heard in certain countries in Africa, all the best building/cars belong to charities, corruption are everywhere in african countries, makes me wondering what exactly do africa need to make the change, do foreigners really understand what locals want or we are just forcing them to believe whatever we believes in, does the money brought into the country changes the country in a good way or bad....?

We had a blackout later tonight at dinner, apparently it happens pretty frequently on weekends because of some maintenance work, so we lid up the candles which actually makes the dinner pretty neat except we're having another vegetarian meal again, meat lovers are all craving for meat so we decided to stop by Knan's BBQ for some chicken, Ronnie, Mark, Bryana, Alphonce, Tammy and I are pretty much the only meat lovers in the house so we all went, and we ordered a lot, man, the chicken is so good, like Alphonce said, chicken made our day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb