Gearing up for Campaign


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
June 2nd 2008
Published: June 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

FloodingFloodingFlooding

There were many families displaced during the long rains in Mto Wa Mbu due to flooding
Mpenzi Rafiki (Dear Friends),

All is going very well and we are getting very excited about the upcoming campaign! Actually, the campaign begins tomorrow and will take place in Moshi, the first week. The second week will be the Men and Women's seminars, Children's Bible School and campaign here in Arusha. Then we will end the campaign in Mto Wa Mbu (Mesquito River) the following week. Chuck Webster, his daughter Bailey and a group from Hoover, AL. will be here helping with the Mesquito River campaign. We cannot wait to see our friends from Hoover! Chuck will be speaking each evening and we will do much door knocking, setting up Bible Studies, and will conduct Children's Bible School. This being our first year to be involved in the campaign- "Safari for Souls", it has been a lot for us to take in!
As if the campaigns were not enough to keep our heads spinning, we have an unusual dilemma to deal with during the campaigns this year. There is a very large Summit going on in town this week as well. The Summit will bring in at least 30,000 extra Americans to the Arusha area, not to mention all others
Business As UsualBusiness As UsualBusiness As Usual

The Tanzanians work, rain or shine. We don't realize how fortunate we are in just having a vehicle where we can stay dry!
involved in the Summit. Traffic is ALWAYS a night mare, so this should be a great challenge, to say the least! Sean is helping John and Angie Baker move today. He called and said most roads are closed to regular traffic and, the ones that are not, are "a little backed up". Unfortunately the problem will not improve for a week or two after the Summit as we expect foreign visitors to stay and sight see; go on Safari. Just an extra little challenge- homnashida (no problem)!
I have managed to figure out how to add photos to my blog and was glad to know it was not "all me". There is a little shida (problem) with my computer so it makes it slow going, but possible! So, I will add a few photos I have taken since we arrived in January and am anxious to add the campaign photos in a week or two!
I am very excited about meeting with the ladies on the "decorating committee" this Saturday. Those of you who know me, know I really like this part of any event! We are going to build a Tanzanian lady and child out of panty hose and
Pretty Blue BirdPretty Blue BirdPretty Blue Bird

These beautiful blue birds are difficult to photograph. They move at the speed of "Hummingbird".
have them sitting in a wicker chair studying the Bible as a decoration for the Lady's Seminar. When I first introduced the idea they thought I had lost my mind! So I am anxious to see how it goes! Mary laughed and laughed when I asked her if she could help me sew their faces to the wicker chair! I will definitely be taking some pictures of this! We will be decorating bulletin boards as well. Bonnie, Angie & I offered to bring lunch so we could have a little picnic. I decided I'm going to take bacon and banana sandwiches. That's right, bacon and banana! We first had these sandwiches when we visited Peponi, and to our surprise, they are delicious! You cook the bacon first, of course, then layer it with the banana on bread. I toast mine in our sandwich maker. You will have to try them, and let me know what YOU think!
We are still waiting to see how the work permit situation is going to pan out- of course. We are supposed to hear something this week- uh huh. All I know is, the Lord's will, will be done!
We love our new home,
Just An Ordinary DayJust An Ordinary DayJust An Ordinary Day

This young lady cannot understand what I find so fascinating about her daily chores.
but miss our loved ones terribly. We enjoy any word from home and cherish every note. We thank you all for all you have done and continue to do, and sacrifice, for our family every day. You make this work possible and we are indebted to you and love you for it! I am anxious to report on the upcoming campaign and look forward to any word from you! All my love to you, Anita

Advertisement



Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb