Can't Wait 'til Sunday!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
May 6th 2008
Published: May 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sean and AnitaSean and AnitaSean and Anita

This is where Mrs. Anna lives. She makes all kinds of cheese. She was able to start her small business due to a government program where they gave each family one cow. Mrs. Anna is a real success story, however, you will not find her living in a fine home on top of this beautiful mountain. She puts much of the money she makes back in to her community.
Hey Everyone,

I have been sitting on this entry for a few days now hoping I would get the whole picture "shida" (problem) figured out, but every time I try to add a photo my computer shuts down completely. Go figure. Soooo, I decided, if this entry is going to be relevant, I'd better post it today, since it IS Saturday.
Just wanted to share in my excitement and anticipation. I am excited about Sunday. I've been teaching the ladies in Monduli concerning the roll of the woman; at home, in the community, and in the church. I gave each lady a small bag of sugar (wrapped in a piece of a conga and tied with string) and challenged them to use the sugar in some way, that would help them fulfill their God given roll in one of these areas. I'm anxious to find out this Sunday how they used their sugar to serve the Lord. I hope they took the challenge seriously and used it to make someone's day a little "sweeter".
As you know, this Sunday is Mother's day. This will fit PERFECTLY with this week's lesson, "What About the Older Women?". I am planning to get a rose for each of the women (You can get a dozen roses here for 1000 shillings- that's about 80 cents!). I think the ladies will really enjoy getting the flowers and it will be a good visual and opportunity to discuss the "blooming where you are planted" analogy. The older women here have so much potential, so much to offer, and ENDLESS opportunities to help the younger women. They ARE truly amazing women. Their culture is such that I cannot imagine being a young woman thrown in to the adult world with no one to help guide me. They have such a hard life and so many responsibilities, even before they become women, that I can not imagine walking a mile in their shoes (figuratively and literally!). Please pray for these women, that they will use the resources and talents they have been given by God to bring glory to Him in their homes, their community, and the church. Thanks y'all. Much love, in Christ, Anita

Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb