Finally feeling free to roam the city


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
November 19th 2008
Published: May 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Cigarette advertisingCigarette advertisingCigarette advertising

Great 1970ies style branding and I love the brand name: 'Sportsman', does it help to increase your lung capacity? Probably, after all these are the strongest cigarettes on the market!
I’m so happy I've got my bicycle now, so not feeling restricted anymore. I’ve been riding to work all week already, so no more useless time spent in traffic jams! It’s perfect for exploring town as well, the heat becomes slightly less overbearing when cycling than even walking slowly and I get a lot less hassle as well, no more ‘Taxi, taxi - rafiki , hey taxi!’… It’s not more scary than cycling in London, bus and cab drivers are pretty much as reckless in any city and there are about as few cycle lanes as in London as well, just the cornerstones to get off the road are higher, in fact they are ridiculously high and then there is the occasional hole here and there - a lot of the drainage covers are missing. This can be a bit of an obstacle when your walking around after dark, not helped by the lack of street lighting or even better power cuts in a whole neighbourhood.
On the bike it takes me about 20min to work, 30min if I take the scenic route along the ocean. This feels a bit more scary, as many people race here along with 100km/h (it’s
View of the city from Kenyatta DriveView of the city from Kenyatta DriveView of the city from Kenyatta Drive

On one of my cycling routes to work - along the Indian Ocean
well within city limits, but that doesn’t seem to worry most of them). By the time I get to the office, I’m ready for my second shower of the day, even before 8am it is bloody hot and humid, but nothing in comparison to later in the day - like when I usually went to Roselyn’s office.
Now that I had the car, I still needed to get a road licence and registration plates. This is part of the job of the clearing agent, so it was back to Roselyn’s office. - Her colleagues already started calling me her ‘mzungu boyfriend ’ - well, I’ve been coming there at least 3 times a week. This should be done before the weekend, so I might just about be able to actually drive it again!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Kenyatta DriveKenyatta Drive
Kenyatta Drive

On the left (picture above) the Indian Ocean, on the right diplomatic residences...


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb