bagamoyo2


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
October 31st 2007
Published: October 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

my kids!!my kids!!my kids!!

it took a long time to do this dora puzzle!
Jumbo!

Sorry my emails are few and far in between but i do not have a lot of time to come to the internet cafe and it is about a 20 minute walk in sweltering heat
and im trying my best to not get super duper dark, but my swahali teacher told me i was black today soo...i dont think its working

Anyway, school is awesome. I teach English and math....There is so much to say. I cant wait to show you pictures but the school itself. It is like a very small concrete shack. All the children
sit on the floor and most do not have any supplies. Luckly, i was able to buy some paper and some pencils. Things like crayons and markers are a luxury. You should
see the face of the children when i first passed out my markers, they love them!! There is absolutely nothing on the wall so all the children and i have been
doing our best to decorate as much as possible!. I have taken some pictures of that as well! They also love to sing songs, they teach me the swahili ones and i teach them
the english ones. They also sing that song "fire, fire, fire fall on me, pentocost fire fall on me." It is so cute!!

Another thing is porridge time...i know everyone has seen those feed the children commericals with the little kids eating this watery porridge..that is exactly what it is like! They have this big bucket of porridge and i scoup it out of the
bucket with a cup and that is their meal! Just seeing those kids line up for that stuff was crazy to me the first day i saw it but the children eat that..actually they love it!
They lick the cup clean!

Today, the pastors daughter was sick. her name is Ambrosia and she is 17 so Mama asked me to come with them to the hospital. of course, I could not say no. We got on a moped(which was
a story in itself!) and went to a "hospital" that could not have been bigger than my apartment! There was at all times at least 25 pple waiting in a room the size of my living room and there was one doctor. It was very
inefficient to say the least. Also, the doctor looked at each patient for
my kids!!my kids!!my kids!!

they all love having their picture taken...
no more than 2 minutes. I cant imagine he knew what was wrong with each patient in that short period of time!
Everyone here has malaria, so there was also many people throwing up outside..that was very hard to watch. But aimbora got her medicine and will be fine. It was amazing to see the type of condition
the hospital was in and the type of medical treatment disadvantaged people receive.

As far as our home base, everything is good. There is nothing to complain about. The food is amazing, we have two chefs Robert and Eda and they are the sweetest most caring people and they put their
soul into each meal. And if you tell that that you liked something that they made, they are so overjoyed! They have this spicy pickle stuff and they always make sure that i have an entire bowl..because
i absolutely love that stuff! It is sooo hot here, and i am always sweating...so you can imagine how i smell =/ lol Other that that, everything is cool.

This weekend me and 4 others are going on a safari and then hiking to a couple of waterfalls..i already know that it
my kids!!my kids!!my kids!!

playing is some good ole dirt
will be amazing!




Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

my kids!!my kids!!
my kids!!

swinging from trees
my kids!!my kids!!
my kids!!

making porridge...25 cups of water, 2 cups of millet flour and 1 cup of sugar...
my kids!!my kids!!
my kids!!

they loving coloring..and they are so excited when you give them plain white computer paper because they dont have that kind of paper there
faraja daycarefaraja daycare
faraja daycare

its so small and it has no doors or windows
mama happinessmama happiness
mama happiness

This is her school and vision. She started this school because most of the children are orphans or come from severely disadvantaged homes.


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb