bagamoyo


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
October 8th 2007
Published: October 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

tanzaniatanzaniatanzania

fish market
Jambo guys!!


I just wanted everyone to know that I am alive and well=) I have only been here for a couple of days and I already love it. Everyone is soo nice, the food is really good, and the rooms are clean. The only not so great thing is that it is super duper hot and humid and I AM tar!!


The staff is so friendly they constantly hold my hand, hug, and kiss me and my new name is dada Lisa, which means sister Lisa.. I ve made lots of friends already. All these people are amazing. They are really cool and really sweet. Yesterday, we had a little orientation and then the whole group went out to some night spots together, which was so awesome. The electricity went out while we were there so we sat around and talked to each out in pitch darkness =/ I had no idea how many stars there were in the sky! I know that sounds crazy but I cant remember the last time I was able to see stars in the UC…lol, let alone a sky full of them…so beautiful.

We did a little tour of Bagamoyo today and it was amazing and sad walking through the small village today. The people are very poor but always smiling and the little kids are sooo cute. When they see you, they run up to you and say Mumbo! MUmbo! You just want to eat them up!..

Yesterday we went to the beach which is about a 15 minute walk away from home base and we start work tomorrow, which I am very excited and nervous for, so im sure that I will have so much more to say. I found out today that the teacher who taught there quit last week so there is currently no teacher=(. It is a private school run by an Assembly of God pastor.




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

east german slave tradeeast german slave trade
east german slave trade

Fido told us they used to burn the weak slaves here
homehome
home

a palace compared all the surrounding homes
slugslug
slug

i just thought this was the biggest ugly thing ever...
top bunktop bunk
top bunk

which i fell off of one night....=(
baracudabaracuda
baracuda

guess whats for dinner?
robertrobert
robert

head chef at home..he is amazing!!!!
eddaedda
edda

assistant chef..she is sweetest lady ever.
ednaedna
edna

friend and housekeeper...
mama Cmama C
mama C

she basically runs everything..love her
graveyard1graveyard1
graveyard1

all the small headstones are children


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb